Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2011
The artwork is an absolute visual feast and the text, `exercises', anatomical information, tips, advice, examples and so on seem to be some of the most comprehensive I've ever seen in a book of this type and I've only dipped into it yet. It takes the reader from the very basics of fundamental drawing skills all the way through to advanced techniques from some of the very best bird artists there are.

There's enough beautiful art to keep anyone drooling over the pages for hours, it's full of inspiring imagery that will make you want to get out and paint and draw for yourself.

A classic that easily deserves its place alongside John Busby's `drawing birds' on anyone's bookshelf.

If you don't have this book yet, do yourself a massive favour and get it!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
At last! An art book written by an artist for artists. This is a fantastic book. It contains some really useful information and is packed full of wonderful examples of work by a wide variety of artists showing different styles of work. This book is a breath of fresh air, it doesn't follow the tired format of step by step approaches, but rather inspires and gives ideas for producing your own work. I think this book will have a wide appeal, and the techniques could be applied to drawing or painting animals too. My only criticism is the quality of the paper the book is printed on. It feels a little flimsy, which is a shame, as I feel this book will be well used and treasured for many years to come. That said, the book is a great price (especially from Amazon). As you can see I love this book, and I think you will too!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Wether you paint birds or want to do, this is a must. I am amazed by the sheer amount of photos, paintings and drawings he has managed to cram in! The best advice from the best bird painters and ornithologists from bird anatomy to habits to painting and drawing and so much more. This is one of the best books that I have ever bought.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
I have been delighted with this excellent book on a subject I was approaching for the first time. Many lovely illustrations, not only by Tim Wootton but also by other artists with many varying styles, plus very useful guidance notes by Mr Wootton for budding artists of all levels of competence.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
A very comprehensive volume, with a host of useful how to draw and paint demonstrations, which also includes advice on painting in the field. Packed with illustrations and plenty of bird art by many other bird artist as well as the authors own excellent examples. There is also a 3D model of a sea gull you can put together to practice sketching and observing the effects of perspective on the birds wings. Much can be gleaned from this book, it's also a visual delight. I just wish it was in hard back.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
I bought this recently and I have enjoyed not just having a go at drawing, but simply looking at all the wonderful drawings of birds it contains, by many talented artists. A very lovely book and I would recommend it highly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
This is a very good book for those interested in drawing birds. It is full of beautiful images from pencil sketches to watercolours to oil paintings. This creates a great book for those who are interested in birds in general, and it's not the preserve of bird artists. These images are inspirational to achieving a better skill set, they show how it's possible to create the best images. A lot of problems I had with other books was the quality of the images, but not in this case.
The practical nature of the book is very good with plenty of tips on how to improve your craft. These include the basics which will improve your drawing in general, to more specific to bird art.
This is probably the best book I have come across that is about birds, art and drawing. I recommend going to this book before any other when it comes to bird art.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2011
I'm a wildlife photographer but this book is so good I picked up a pencil straight away and started to follow the excellent tips in the book - absolutely superb
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Book absolutely wonderful. Packed with beautiful and varied illustrations and the text is very enjoyable. Four stars as, although brand new, the pages are slightly cockles throughout suggesting damp storage. Do buy the book though if you want to capture bird life with your pencil and paints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
This is the book for learning to paint birds. Others are really good but this book goes the extra mile in all ways. From the basics like bird structure, skeletal alignment, variety in size, structure, gait, through to head shapes, eye orbits and descriptions as well as the best way to paint each type is all clearly described and shown in understandable language.
It does not mystify you or confuse you with technical language or make you feel like you need a degree in ornithology before reading it - as some others do. It starts you at the base of the bird, shows you how to look at it, and explains carefully how to achieve a likeness for field sketch work, and how to transfer those sketches in to a painting.
There are copious coloured pictures, drawings, descriptions and examples of various paintings and differing styles. I have several books on drawing and painting birds and this one is in a class of it's own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)