Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2011
A good teacher imparts knowledge without thinking of themselves. They are open and transparent and want to give over what they know to their audience. This book does just that. I first read about Rebecca Oaks in Ben Law's "The Woodland Year". Her passion for coppicing and woodland crafts are tangible and infectious. The Co-writer, Edward Mills, is just as enginging. I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in copice work; be they gardener or archeologist, bushcraft instructor or gamekeeper. It is full of practical advice that facilitates the learning without being condecending. A great read.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Had more about managing a woodland than making things. Also included sections on the financial side of managing woodland which I wasn't really interested in. There was not enough detail as to how to make individual items. If you need a lot of detailed instructions as to how to make things I wouldn't opt for this tome as the one for you. perhaps I should have tracked the book down first and have a read before buying but it's still an interesting read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
This is a really helpful book for those people who like the idea of making coppicing work for them, but also for people like me who enjoy small scale wood crafting. It clearly explains the qualities of different woods and how to work with them, and is easy to follow as it is presented and written in user-friendly language, with plenty of references for further reading if required. It's inspired me to plant more hazel and ash in my little bit of woodland in France, and to try my hand at charcoal making and simple hurdles for the garden.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
My husband bought this book as he is interested in getting into coppicing. He said the book was very interesting going into the traditions of coppicing and regional styles and designs. He would recommend buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
well written and informative book on all aspects of coppicing and the crafts associated with it. A must have for any one considering getting involved in this ancient craft.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
I've found this to be an incredibly enlightening book, with a good format, useful illustrations and wonderful contextual information. I can only assume that the one negative review I can see, came from someone with considerable experience. As a 3D Design for Sustainability student, I, and my fellow course-mates, have found this book to be a valuable access point to many key traditional processes and contemporary applications, that are otherwise very hard to find practical guidance on. Thanks Oaks and Mills!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
A really lovely book, bought for my husband for Christmas. We have a small coppice that is in need of some TLC and this book is perfect! Ideas with regard to looking after the trees, correct planting. Also loads of ideas for crafting your own things from the coppice - fencing, weaving, etc. My hubby is very happy with this book & is thoroughly enjoying it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
bought as a gift well recived . plenty of clear photos and well laid out information , ideal for a basic over view of woodland crafts
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Just a bit disappointing, the info is sound enough but thin on detail, there are better books covering this topic.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
I am just starting out on coppice work and green woodworking and this book is great, straight forward to read, lots of colour photos, a realistic and encouraging approach to this fabulous trade
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)