Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2017
Book with nice pictures...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
Let me first comment on the other reviews: This book is very similar to the book published on Freddie Mercury as part of the solo collection over 10 years ago. However, its not correct to review a product compared to other ones. Its important to mention it, but not all own that solo collection, and for those who don't, this book should be reviewed on its own.

As for the book, this is a very large and very impressive book on Freddie Mercury. Contains mainly photographs of him, starting of his childhood, through Queen days and the solo days. Though the photos are not rare. But the quality of the book is very good, some of the photos are on double pages, some on one page.

As mentioned already, this book is very similar to the one in Freddie Mercury Solo Collection (which contains also 12 discs) published over 10 years, and hard to find these days (even if you do, it will cost you a lot). If you own the solo collection, you might consider whether you should buy this book. You might be very disappointed that its almost the same book you already own. Pity that the publishers were not creative enough to add new material. For those who already own the solo collection, it's absolutely a rip off.

If not, its highly recommended for anyone: either Freddie's fans or not. The book is not so expensive either.

The book contains also a radio interview with Freddie on a CD inside of it (attached to the book).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2012
I am a long time Queen fan and I bought this book in the belief that it contained a lot of images that were newly published and from hard to find sources. This was certainly the impression given by the Official Queen website and their teaser video prior to the official release.

When you get the book its big, it has a padded style cover and given the brilliant DVD that was also lauched recently as part of "the great pretender" package my expectations were high.

After a few biographical pages you are looking at a pictorial run through Freddie's life but sadly these are mostly made up of previously available shots of Freddie and mostly promotional picutures and screenshots of videos which would have accompanied singles releases. If you have the fantastic Freddie Box Set that came out in the late 90's you have the best part of this book. As an earlier reviewer rightly said the contents have been covered before in publications like Queen's Greatest Pix etc.

My advise - buy the Blu Ray or DVD and the Barcelona re-worked CD box set but give this a miss. The Queen cash machine is alive and well.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
If, like me, you're a fan, BE CAREFUL when buying this book.
The contents of this book have been released before, back in 2000, in the FM Solo Box Set by EMI.
It contains exactly the same photographs and text: it's simply a re-hash of a previous product.
The only "new" content is a foreword by Rhys Thomas and an interview CD, neither of which are worth the price alone.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
This book arrived today. Having looked through it, the presentation of the book is very good, the cover is a soft padded hardcover and looks impressive. The photos inside are all reproduced in good quality. The reason I have only awarded this 3 stars is if you are a Queen / Freddie fan and already have books such as Greatest Pics 1 and 2, Classic Queen, The Illustrated History etc, then you will have seen almost every photo in this book before. A handful were new, but not enough to justify a new book. So nice to have if your a big fan, but im not sure I will open it that often in the future.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
A brilliant book at a fantastic price!!! The quality of this book is unsurpassed, it is approximately 50% pictures so those wanting a serious book on Queen may want more writing but it is full of photos not seen before. My Queen mad daughter absolutely loved having this for her 7th birthday, it was without a doubt her favourite present. The book itself is large and very well made and glossy, a lovely coffee table book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
The product itself is amazing, great pictures. It's lucky I bought it for myself as I couldn't have given this as a gift, the back cover is completely scratched, like it's been resting on a rough surface and has been dragged around it. Bit of a let down really.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Very good quality photos in here spanning pretty much the whole of the singer's life, preceded by a few pages of introduction written by a music journalist. I don't usually buy this sort of merchandise, so can't comment on whether the pictures have appeared before in other publications. The only gripe I have with the book is that the writing next to the photographs is so tiny I actually had to use a magnifying glass in order to read it!

Not sure if they're planning on re-publishing this book.. (I think it's now out of print?) but I'd imagine it's possible, as this year sees what would have been Freddie Mercury's 70th birthday, so there are likely to be some releases of Queen books/cds/dvds etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Not as good or as in depth as Mick Rock's own book of pictures Killer Queen but this is still a good addition to the Queen collection as it concentrates solely on Freddie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)