Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 September 2017
Centralisation of government has long been known to increase corruption and waste. This is because politicians are more able to pursue their self-interest with less of a constraint imposed by an increasingly distant electorate. International organisations have been particularly noteworthy in this respect and the EU is clearly no exception.

The authors estimate that the EU costs £1,219bn pa. They go on to document an astonishingly broad array of failure, corruption and waste, including the benefits and expense allowances of MEPs and bureaucrats, corporate lobbying, the inexorable increase in the scope of the EU, the contempt for democracy, excessive regulation, fraud, propaganda, the Common Agricultural Policy, the Common Fisheries Policy, regional assistance and environmental policy, amongst others. The chapter on propaganda is particularly brilliant in highlighting how democracy is being subverted and our national institutions are being turned against us.

The authors give numerous examples and have clearly done some very detailed research. Although their book makes for grim reading it is written in an entertaining and humorous style. This is a must read for those who want to understand the inner workings of the EU.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
You soon become swamped with figures and numbers gave up on it quite early.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Clearly written in simple everyday english, this book should be read by anyone interested in how Europe is an ever growing part of our lives...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2016
An easy to read account of the European Superstate which has huge jurisdiction over our lives, and how we arrived at this situation. The clear explanations and descriptions of institutional lies, deceit, profligacy, democratic loss, greedy elitism and more left me grinding my teeth as I read. This book should be widely available as a referenced source about a prolonged attack on nationhood and the steady march to oligarchic rule by masters of dissimulation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
A detailed expose of the corrupt EU bureaucracy, Should not be read by Eurosceptics with high blood pressure. Supports a lot of what Nigel Farage has said about the EU.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Everyone who voted to stay in should read this - it changed my mind! Was recommended by UK Column
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Amazing read. Page after page it talks of corruption everywhere within the EU. Any MEP can become a millionaire without 'stealing' anything; they just don't have to declare their expenses which are substantial. Just this alone would want me to vote for leaving the EU in any future referendum.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
Unbelievable corruption waste and inefficiency coupled with megalomaniac drive for total power over the whole of Europe unseen since the days of the Third Reich. I would like to distribute a free copy to everyone in the country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Well researched although the title might put someone off seeking a balanced appraisal. A free press in Europe is essential to hold this hydra-headed monster to account.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Topical book as EU in/out vote due in a few months. This explains in brief, easy to read, and no uncertain terms the simple facts behind the EU and why we need to be very, very OUT of it -

Do you like spending about €2500 per man woman and child in the UK to the EU per year and getting only a fraction back in highly publicised 'ain't we great' EU subsidies / grants.
The EU claims it only costs about €250 a year per person in the UK. It 'forgot' to add on the national governments price tag for enforcing the EUs rulings. Its red tape and admin etc, etc which multiply this figure drasticly - all listed for your pleasure.
The EU citizens elect the EU parliment - It has no real powers. It sits 3 HALF days a week and votes through 2000 plus laws rules and regulations per year - spending about a whole 30 seconds debate per law.
The above laws come from the secretive, unelected EU Commission who do as they please and have zero accountability. Its powers are limited only by its own decision to become involved in any area it deems worthy of involvement or not. The Commissioners even speak of a 'post democratic age' - were the public are to 'thick' to deal with the complexity of modern economic and political matters and thus voting is waste of time.
The EU court of Justice is an equally delightful, unelected and powerful institution which has unlimited powers to interfer and meddle where it pleases and acts as an even more aggressive EU Parliament with no interest in crime and justice or justice of any kind - its constitutional job is to expand the power of the EU against national (properly elected and democratic) governments.
The Commission and Court now have control of about 80% of all national governments law making processes - did you get to vote on any of these constitutional changes never mind all of them. No they were slipped and sneaked in. The few votes that were called in some nations were ' no thanks' - the EU respondonce - vote again and this time get it right.
The entire European governments pay and perks are left bare for all to see - it will make you very, very angry.

The book also points out that security and defence are compromised by the EU - we are in NATO and at current have lost control of our borders. EU hates NATO and wants to rival it and insists in free movement of people in the EU.
It also points out that the endlessly hyped threat to trade/jobs is not a myth but an utter lie. We pay in far more than we get out (Thus losing investment funds we could have made directly into the UK) Like Norway and others we are part of the free trade region of the EU and thus our economic position would remain identical weither in or out. (Under international law/treaties this situation is further cemented.)

The EU - FU - let's get out and good riddance.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)