Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2001
This excellent textbook presents an up-to-date account of youth research and policy in the UK. Divided into seven chapters, it covers a comprehensive range of topics relating to youth crime including: joy-riding, homelessness, truancy, Ecstasy and club culture, persistent young offenders, boot camps, poverty and unemployment, parental responsibility, girl gangs, the Jamie Bulger case, zero tolerance and electronic tagging.
One of the strengths of the text is its emphasis on the value of historical, feminist and comparative perspectives. Unlike most other books on criminal justice published in England it includes detailed discussion of Scotland's resistance to the drift towards punitiveness, and its distinctive institutions (notably the Children's Hearing System) and policies (e.g. the Hamilton 'curfew'). Unlike most other books on youth crime it takes the experiences of girls as seriously as those of boys.
Primarily aimed at an undergraduate audience, Youth and Crime provides an accessible resource for students. Each chapter includes review questions and suggestions for further reading, as well as visual summaries of complex theoretical approaches (e.g. Foucault's Discipline and Punish) and developments in youth policy (e.g. the Crime and Disorder Act 1998). The author takes time to explain key concepts properly (e.g. the difference between correlation and causation) and provides assessments of the work discussed. Particularly helpful is the appended glossary of key terms, which explains concepts as diverse as 'protracted adolescence', 'bifurcation', 'anomie', and 'style'.
My one caveat is that Youth and Crime's subtitle would have more accurately portrayed its contents had it indicated that the book's focus is predominantly on the youth crime problem in Britain. Muncie does refer to a range of international interventions - mainly North American - but he does so only to offer examples of good practice for would be reformers in the UK.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
only brought it cos you know criminology degree and all that, helped me get a 2:1 so yeah super muncie super
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2006
This is an excellent informative easy to read publication of interest to students in sociology, criminology and those employed or connected in criminal justice.
Well researched with upto date material.
Highly recommended.
Ken Rogers. Columnist 'Professional Security'
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
currently studying third year module on youth crime so this book is a must. Advised by tutor that the author is the man to read on youth crime!! couldn't agree more. Well structured, easy to navigate book, where you can get as little or as much as you want from it. Each section has its own overview which enables the reader to pick out the relevent information, and ends with a summary, study questions, further reading and web resources - easy to follow, easy to read, and easy to comprehend - equalling sound, informed, knowledge base - BRILLIANT!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
I found this book quite difficult to read. It is useful if you know what you are looking for and want a reference to back up what you're saying. It explores lots of issues and is a good criminology/sociology book. It's not my favourite but it's alright to have on your shelf as a book you can use for an extra reference!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
If you are studying Criminology at University Degree Level this is one of the books you will likely be required to purchase as part of your studies.

My 5 star review is for price, quality of packaging and speed of arrival, plus Amazon Customer Service Support
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
In my third year of my criminology degree, this book is very useful and easy to read, definitely recommend as a core book. Arrived quick, well packaged, said was used but actually looks brand new, not a single page is creased, dirty or written on - very happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Very detailed, and exactly what I needed to develop my professional practice. I am very satisfied with this book and I am happy to recommend it to anyone studying or world king in a similar field to myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2012
A good all round source book for students of criminology, youth justice and general social injustice! Makes sensible arguments, backed up with historical fact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
I study Youth Justice Ba(Hons) and this is a key piece of reading for me! Very academic and fantastically informed! I don't know what i'd do without it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here