Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2009
This 250-page full-colour hard-back must be the best value field guide on the market today. It covers all the 202 European reptiles and amphibians, including introductions, but not those of the Atlantic Islands (Canaries, etc.)which can be found in the Collins field guide. Most are illustrated by stunning colour photographs of the highest professional standard - as good as any I have seen of this group. They illustrate differences between males and females, sub-species and varieties for many species. The text is comprehensive and appears to be bang up-to-date, including recent taxonomic changes in, for example, green frogs and midwife toads. Highly recommended to anyone interested in these fascinating and beautiful creatures.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
I am a fieldherper, and i was looking foward for this book, considering it`s been a while since the Arnold guide. But it`s a booklet where only certain species have full accounts, while others only get a few rows, not even a picture.
The maps are not that accurate and the taxonomy is not up to date.

But the text is very informative. And the photographs are great. So it`s a nice addition to the library of any person that loves amphibians and reptiles.

Enjoy the lecture, and happy herping!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2009
An excellent guide with all the recent splits for wall lizards and expertly written. Useful photos that make this really useful for European trips. For the price, this guide represents top value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
Despite of its small size (which is also singificant plus for any field guide) the book is quite informative and has a lot of good quality photos. A list of sources of related information(like a websites, magasines and the most important thematic and regional monographs)makes it even more helpfull and useable.I consider it as the best one among other similar publications
Many thanks for its author Alex Kwet.
Aleksandr Rudik
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
It is a good book for field herpers in Europe and for people who loves European Reptiles and Amphibians. Some names are older, but it is an beautiful book with good pictures and discriptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
An excellent guide that provides a great deal of information about each species, beyond simple identification. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
This guide was was recommended by the guide I was with in Spain in September. I am sure that it will prove useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
I was looking to learn more about reptiles and amphibians. I have found this guide has what I need and more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
Clear, concise, good pictures - a helpful field guide
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Yes
a very nice guide
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)