Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now flip flip flip Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 November 2012
After reading Mick Walls "Enter Night" i must say this was much more enjoyable even if the second half is like other reviewers here mention not as good as the first. However I give McIver credit for not trying to disguise his opinion as fact and that he stills views a future for Metallica. I am a huge fan of Meatallica and until they put out their own biography this is a great read and I learned a lot I did not know about the band. Mick Walls book has more on their time with their first manager Zazula and some interesting facts around the recording of the albums. If you want to know everything about Metallica then both books will give you something if you have to choose one of these two. I would recomend Metallica: Justice for All by McIver as his writing style for me at least felt more personal and was more enjoyable.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 27 April 2004
This book starts off really well. The first half of of this book isreally informative espcially the chapter about Cliff. It did contain somethings I didn't know about Metallica. The second really lets this bookdown, it is called "The Truth About Metallica" not "My opinion aboutMetallica". There are less interviews in the second half so the authorhas filled it up with his opinions on the band and there later records,but if your a fan of Metallica (which if your buying this book you mustbe) then you'll already have opinions on these later records.
Its a real shame about this, if the second half was as good as the firsthalf then I would recomend this book, but as it is, only buy if you canget it in a sale.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 25 March 2013
Great book, still reading it but definitely worth it so far!! So many details for the best metal band ever!
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 20 July 2004
There is a great book to be written about Metallica but this isn't it. It starts off promisingly with a plethora of facts and information about the band, their roots (musical and otherwise) as well as a very tight chronology of the development of the band through the years. This is all conveyed in a pleasant though bland style which is rather at odds with the genuinely monumental tale it is trying to convey.
Where the book falls down big time is the author's attempts at analysis of either the band members, their motivations or the band's songs themselves. For instance, rather than investigating the meaning or motivation behind songs and albums, most analysis concentrates on the speed and complexity of the guitar parts or how the songs were recorded. So, rather than in depth analysis of songs such as 'god that failed' or 'mama said' the reader is left with a quick description of how the song sounds and what pretty much sounds like extended production notes.
Even worse, where some analysis is attempted this is often simply the author's opinions on the songs or developments in the bands career. This can often be as little as whether he likes it or not (since 1996 mostly not). For a book claiming to be the 'truth' about metallica this is pretty poor. This sometimes goes to absurd levels when the author attempts to prove (or not) so called myths about the band. In these sections the previous plodding prose morphs into an extremely tedious drone as opinion and counter opinion is spouted to no particular end.
The overall impression I had of the book was that it was the work of an over earnest disgruntled ex-fan. A lot of it reads like either a fanzine or the letters page of the metal mags of old. Even this would be fair enough if the story had been conveyed with a certain amount of style and a sense of excitement about the subject matter. Unfortunately it has not.
11 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 3 November 2004
Considering how exciting Metallica are as a band, one would expect their story to be similarly frenetic. It's a shame, therefore, to see their tale turned into a list of achievements chronicled in much the same way as a phone directory, with a turgid narrative that more than occasionally touches on inspid blandness. It's revealing to learn that McIver is Production Editor on specialist anorak-zine Record Collector, and that he has previously penned a tribute to the equally bland Erykah Badu - this may go some way to explaining why the book fails as a narrative and would, in fact, have worked better as a series of features (in the hands of the right editor).
This, I'm afraid, is one of those occasions where it's best to reach for something authorised, as this tome has all the flavour of a late-night easy-watching 30-minutes biopic, in which people who once met the band's tea-lady are called upon to dispense their 'wisdom'. A shame indeed, and a rather expensive shame.
7 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 8 November 2014
Another take on the METALLICA story good read .
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 23 March 2004
I've been a Metallica fan since 1985 and have been waiting for a book like this to come out ever since their lamentable decision to change to a softer musical style in the mid 1990s. This book tells it like it is -- why the band were so good and why it was so regrettable that they threw it all away. But the author still balances his arguments really well and concludes that they're one of the best metal bands ever, so all Metallica fans will still love this book. There's tons of info here which I've never seen before too, and I thought I knew everything about them. Truly a great achievement!
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 31 March 2004
You can never be too hard on Metallica because they ARE the Led Zeppelin of our generation...Joel McIver has done a tremendous job on "Justice For All". As somebody the same age, growing up in the same scene (only in New Jersey) as Metallica, Joels book really brought me back to the origins of the whole underground thrash scene of the 80's.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 28 June 2004
Details, vision, scope, clarity, depth, this book has it all. metallica themselves never knew their story went so deep. I give this guy full props for research, style and perseverance, this book slays the competition.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 13 May 2004
I couldn't put this one down, and it's a pretty heavy read! The book go into every detail a dedicated Metallica fan could hope for, from the music that shaped their lives when they were young to separating the myths from the facts about one of the biggest bands in the world. The author, Joel McIver, has included some of his many amazing interviews with different metal bands (Faith No More, Slipknot, Iron Maiden, Deep Purple to name a few), music journalists and photographers from over the years, and although he is obviously a huge fan, his views are balanced and always fair. Just writing this review makes me want to read it again! If only every book would deliver on this level.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here