Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Hard Men of Welsh Rugby
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 October 2017
The book is basically like top trumps but in a novel. It's just a page with a player on and a few facts. I was not impressed and it held no information that I needed In order to write my dissertation. It is not a interesting book and has no stories. Therefore, I use the term book loosely. Absolutely terrible content and a waste of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Good insight into the hard world of the dark arts before the professional game sanitised the game and took all the larger than life characters out of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
This is an excellent introduction to some of the biggest characters in Welsh rugby. It must have been difficult to whittle down this list, and there are some notable absentees (Cobner? Dai Bishop?) but it is expertly written and packed with amusing anecdotes and trivial asides. Thoroughly recommended for any rugby fan, and essential reading for the Wales fanatic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Good but there are notable exceptions, e.g. Terry Cobner. A very good read non the less and worth the money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. How rugby has changed. Anyone reading this book should also read Bobby Windsor' s autobiography - humorous and sad. What a wonderful rugby player.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
An excellent read and insight into a great era of Welsh rugby. It provides a lot of information about what made these players so good, and why so many of them were so very tough. Creates a great understanding as to why Wales were so dominant in the amateur era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
I really enjoyed this book after previously reading books on John Dawes and Dai Morris.It brought back memories and filed in some info I didn't know about some of my childhood heroes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
Goods arrived on time and did what they said on the tin. Thank you very much. Diolch yn fawr iawn.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
My husband, son and grandsons all enjoyed reading this excellent book. They have all played rugby, one at international level, for Wales, and appreciate tHe contents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
I am sorry to say that I was really disappointed with this book, which I had eagerly anticipated.

The choice of the players included in the book is always going to be a matter of opinion and, as the author correctly points out, it also depends on your definition of 'hard'. However, there were some interesting choices and some players, who I would have thought would have been automatic choices, were not included. How Terry Cobner was left out is beyond me. To be fair, the author does concede in the preface that Cobner was unlucky to miss out, but Tommy David, David Bishop, John Perkins, Richard Moriarty, Mark Jones, plus a host of lesser known uncapped players who slogged it out for their clubs over the years could just as easily have been included in this list. I was pleased to see John Bevan and the late Brian Thomas included, as history seems to have forgotten their contribution to Welsh rugby in the late '60s and early 70's.

My other concerns are the number of errors where dates or player names are incorrect, and most, if not all, of the stories recounted I had read before in various autobiographies. Oh for a warts and all account of what really went on in certain games!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)