Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
15
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2017
GOOD READ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
great read thoroughly enjoyed it not been a fan of either side it increased my knowledge of the "Divide"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
I am not a fan of either of the Old Firm but I am intrigued by them which is why I bought this book.

Wilson offers an excellent insight into the workings of both clubs, their histories, traditions and the mindset of their supporters.

The book does not seek to glorify or dress up the Old Firm as something that they are not and there is a particularly poignant passage about the Ibrox disaster which brought a lump to my throat.

All in all this is a fantastic book that I read in 3 days. I thoroughly recommend it to any football fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
My mum who's in her mid 60s is originally from Glasgow and a Rangers fan. All I can say is she loved it and couldn't put it down! She said it brought back so many memories and typified the culture at that time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Not too much depth here, very descriptive at times, probably a better read if you're coming to the Old Firm from the 'outside'. Worth reading nonetheless. I enjoyed it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Bought this as a little gift for my Rangers supporter hubby. Informative but in a light hearted way. Easy read too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
I really enjoyed this book-a fabulous read and very interesting. I liked how it gave the perspective of a wide range of people about what the Old firm meant to them. I would recommend
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sums up the old firm well and gives an accurate description of Glasgow. Would recommend to any old firm supporter
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
I recommend this book to anyone with an interest in understanding the rivalry between the two biggest clubs in Scotland. The book delves deep into the history of the rivalry, and due to the brilliant research, and content, you will understand the divisions between Celtic and Rangers. "A Fantastic Book" Read It.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
Superbly written and insightful, this book is a genuine first, a well balanced account of the history of Rangers and Celtic, and the Old Firm match in particular, from the perspective of everyone involved in the fiercest derby in football.

It could be argued that it is impossible to understand Glasgow without appreciating the significance of the derby match between these two unique clubs. I would go as far as to recommend that the book is added to the high school curriculum in the West of Scotland as a first blow against the outdated religious apartheid that is perpetuated by our educational system and ignored by our political representatives.

Since the book was published Rangers have finally succumbed to administration after years of financial mis-management and, despite what the current Celtic chairman may say, the future of these two great clubs are as inextricably linked as their past. It is also therefore a prescient read while the future of Rangers and this historic match remains in jeopardy.

Highly recommended not just to the millions of Old Firm fans around the world then, but also to all football fans interested in the wider social and cultural impact of the game. A stark reminder of the depth of feeling that truly great clubs hold over the people that support them in a time when the wider game has spiralled out of control financially and lost touch with what made it special in the first place.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse