Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
The Pleasures of the Damned: Selected Poems 1951-1993
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 September 2017
Excellent product and service 5*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2017
great for literary fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2017
Love Bukowski's work. Very dark but real. Book arrived in great condition. Very thick to take everywhere with you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2017
Just pick a page at random.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
The bollocks!#
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2011
I haven't read much poetry - it tends to put me off. Usually I find it either over-flowery (anyone from before the 20th Century), obscure - anyone who thinks the totally imprenetrable is somehow profound (almost everyone else) or twee and banal (pointless 'exercises' in poetry by those who've taken classes in it.)

This is different. It's raw, honest, earthy, true, and (mostly) perfectly clear. I take the point about the one word lines - these do become irritating and I wouldn't want to buy a slim volume full of this type of poem - but this is a pretty big collection - nearly 500 pages - and there should be something for everyone. Anyway, it's nice to be able to dip in and read something quickly sometimes, without having to agonise over what it 'means'. It's nice to read poetry that isn't precious and affected. And if it's poetry just because he says it is, well, isn't that true of lots of other poets, and poetry critics?

My one beef about the book is that there's no sense of development, no chronological sequence; the poems from all periods of Bukowski's life are scattered seemingly at random. Whilst it's possible, by looking up a poem in the index, checking which collection it's from, and finding out when that was issued, to get this, it would have made for a more enjoyable read if the poems had been chronological, or at least had dates after them.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2017
A truly incredible collection of some of Bukowski's best work. This was my first time reading Bukowski and I found his verse a bit too lose at first without form but once you begin to understand where he's coming from then it just flows through you like a malt whiskey. Each poem is like a little snapshot of a moment in his life and he brings it together with real force and the bleak pessimism of a man who's seen the very worst sides of modern life. Well recommended if you want a reality kick.

Some of my favorites include:
no leaders, please
The genius of the crowd
self-inflicted wounds
the burning of the dream
finish
Dinosauira, we
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2017
The poems may be THE BEST OF THE BEST OF BUKOWSKI, but removed from their original context they seem to lack the personal touch that I love about his work. There is no struggle, no story. When you read a really good poem in one of his books its made all the better by the poems before it that describe how he is struggling to write or how he had a doctors appointment last week, you get to know the man, not just the poet. This collection seems very impersonal by comparison. I recommend The Last Night Of The Earth Poems instead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
Bukowski will probably always be my favourite poet.
He has a way with words, in which he manages to portray both bitterness, humour and a very realistic if not overly critical way of looking at even the smallest things in life.
This collection is one I love very much, and I always wish for more people to read this book.
I find it hard to put it away, and always take it with me in longer journeys. I never tire of it.
If you are looking through the reviews to figure out whether you should buy this or not; do it.
You Will get so many pages of valuable poems, there is nothing to regret except for letting this collection pass you by.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Post Office
£6.99
Women
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here