Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2010
This could have been a way better book. It's written in an annoying style (no pun) similar to "The Celestine Prophecy" where the carrot is dangled in front of you constantly. It just got tedious. And eventually I just came to the realisation that this guy is not a stud, just some nerd who learnt how to overcome his shyness. It's that simple. It was not his "PUAness" that got him hooked up with all the famous people either, it was that he happened to write for Rolling Stone. And as for being voted 'Greatest Pickup Artist in the world", well that would be like being voted "Best Dungeon Master in the world" i.e. the people casting the votes were nothing but loser nerds.
If the book had been half as long and not so self-indulgent (or take itself so seriously) it could have been an interesting story.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Sad, Immoral and Sexist and this is coming from a teenage boy.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2016
Do not buy this book thinking you will turn into the next Casanova, however treat this book as a learning opportunity. You can learn a lot about how people work and how subtle queues enable you to succeed in influencing a persons opinion. If nothing else this book can teach you how to feel comfortable in your own skin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
If you're into tricks and techniques to get women into bed then sure fine, you'll see some success (this applies to Rules of The Game too). If you're interested in going deeper into human psychology, making yourself a higher quality/attractive individual, generating a higher quality/happier life and relate to women on a deeper emotional level then I'd thoroughly recommend "Way of the Superior Man", "How to Be a 3% Man" or "Models: Attracting Women Through Honesty" instead.

I'd recommend to read this book anyway, but only after reading at least one the above I mentioned.

This book scratches the surface on "relationships" and attraction, but relies too much in projecting yourself as someone you're not, so despite results you'll still remain kinda sad and unfulfilled desperately plugging the hole in your ego with women who will eventually see you for what you really are.

But hey you could make name yourself a cool alter-ego like "Style" or "Mystery", nice bro...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2005
i think the average guy that reads this book will think "wowwww!! now i can pull girls like style using these techniques! YES!" however the problem with this idea is that the average reader will not be spending two years of his life with MYSTERY who is renowned as being the worlds greatest pick up guru.in actual fact style has been posting on the seduction boards since 2001 so i think the idea that he had only been in the game for 2 years is nonsense, its more like 4-5 years. So i think in the book neils abilitys before he entered the community were underestimated and his many many failures have been skipped in order to increase th "wow factor" of the story. its important to realise that niel strauss already had a high status career with many A list connections. He was living in a huge mansion in LA a la jucuzzi hot tub etc where the monthly rent was about 15000 dollars a month between about 5 of them! It was the old rat packs mansion. if you could n t pull in these circumstances i think you should consider suicide! Plus if you look at him he s not ugly and is already stylish. Hes not some completely introverted ugly computer geek . Also he had the time and resources to be out every night at expensive and exclusive bars on sunset stip. Also when hes transitioning from AFC to PUA he has A LOT of very deep hypnosis with experts to get over his own insecurities most people will skip this part and try to use his techniques. In addition Also i think mysterys method is good and will work if done effectively, HOWEVER in my opinion the average guy in the street won t have the motivation, dedication, balls and lack of fear of failure/ rejection and self belief in order to get good results. Don t forget that mystery himself is a highly skilled illusionist who has been offered TV deals and suchlike. If you can show girls in a bar some amazing magic trick whilst being charming she s going to think youre pretty interesting. The average guy has nt been practicing magic since they were a kid.
Plus mystery makes about $25000 A WEEK from his bootcamps.
all in all i think its a great read however i think the potential for this to translate into quick results with women has been exagerrated to sell more product, and their also making it into a film. FILM+ BOOK = NIEL STRAUSS + MYSTERY $$$$!
22 Comments| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
This book will NOT make women jump into your arms. This book will NOT transform you into a pickup artist. However, this book WILL present you with possibillity of turning your life around and point you in a direction where you will be able to become successful (or at least more successful) with women.

Read it with an open mind, but don't take it literally. This book is very entertaining and easy to read (I actually cried of lafter when reading one of the chapters about a guy who lost his virginity, I myself expirianced the exact same scenario), while keeping you hooked with this classic "What will happen next" feeling.

On a more personal note: This book is affecting my life, not directly, but it directed me to someone who opened my eyes a lot (DeAngelo). And the great thing is, just by working on myself a little bit, I started to notice changes. Today, a colleague of mine whom I have been interested in for a while, actually asked ME out... And this after I have been testing some of the theories on her for a week or two. Coincidence? You tell me, I have been around this women for over half a year trying to get her to go out with me. She always said no. But now all of a suddon the tables have turned? Awesome :)

ps.
I apologise for any grammar errors, English is not my native language.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2006
This is one of the most intriguing books I have ever read! The main character is fascinating and I envied him at least 4 times. The idea itself for the existence of a secret society of pick up artists is quite intriguing. I think that Neil has presented as a true master story teller all those ups and downs he went through till "the happy end".

This book will show to the average guy the "picking up" of girls from a completely different perspective. It is neither that difficult nor it is easy, if you know certain "lines, affirmations, etc. I would love to see this great story as a movie. Additional bestseller which wowed me is Alan Ritz' "Scientifically guaranteed male multiple orgasms and ultimate sex". If you want to pick up girls you must be good in bed as well!

Dr. Tom Milholland
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
The Game by Neil Strauss is a book about a guy who becomes part of a Pick-Up Artist community. The books gradually goes through the years of his adventures to becoming the Best Pick-Up Artist in the world, only to have this title mean nothing when a women he completely falls head over heels for beat him at his own game.

I found this book really easy to read, it's a real page turner. The book is well divided up into chapters, which also contain Field Reports, which are the reports of the conversation between himself and the women that he is trying to pick-up, and the end of the book contains a Index of the terms and acronyms that the Pick-Up Artists use for specific things.

The book itself takes you through a range of emotions that you can really feel as the story progresses. It's a journey through the thoughts and adventures that Strauss went through in this part of his life.

This book, however, is not a "How to" book, it's unlikely that you are going to become a Pick-Up Artist by reading this book, but it may lay some foundations in trying things out for yourself because throughout the book, Strauss informs the reader of books that he was reading whilst he was learning to becoming a Pick-Up Artist. He also lets you in on some of the techniques he uses, not to mention the Field Reports as well. I found these Field Reports most interesting because it made me question the truth of the Reports and the techniques, but it also gave me some interesting food for thought, I often found myself thinking, would this really work?

My favourite part of the book was all the added extra's about NLP, Non-Verbal Communication, Pick-Up Artist theory, the deeper discussions on what they were doing, the human psychology and how this community was affecting their health, their careers, their lives.

I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read, but I especially recommended this book to any one, male or female, looking to improve their confidence. It's really explains that people aren't that hard to talk to and people wont mind it too much if you started talking to them - as long as you do it right.

Why I read this book?
I read this book simply because a friend of mine gave it to me. He said: "I have a book for you that you may be interested in reading, it's about pulling women but I think it can be applied to a lot of things - after you finish it let me know what you think."
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
Seems to me as if a lot of reviewers here are missing the point of "The Game". It's not intended to be a "Pick Up Manual",though some "techniques" are outlined, or a kiss and tell. It's a tale of a journalist being introduced to the world of "PUA"s then slowly being sucked into it,a world of desperately sad people with self-image problems feeling the need to have to prove themselves night after night.Anyone reading it and thinking what a great time these guys have obviously wasn't paying attention,most of the key "players" were immature creatures full of self doubt and with various issues bubbling away under the surface of their self-proclaimed cool status as the fate of one of the main characters proves. Richard Strauss starts off getting involved with these people as part of his job,gets sucked in then realises the pointlessness and even sadness of the whole thing.
I enjoyed it but it was far too long and repetitive,Mr Strauss could have easily taken 50 pages out and it would have been a better read,it did get repetitive and tedious but then maybe he was making a point as much of the life of the PUA appears to be that as well.
An interesting look into the world of a disparate group of often socially dysfunctional people desperately trying to prove themselves,it was funny in places,sad in others and a damning commentary on the male psyche,or at least that of those who have trouble growing up and forming real relationships.
A good read with a lesson to learn......and not the one some reviewers here seem to be looking for.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Amazing book, it's like 500 pages and I thought it'd take me a few weeks of on and off reading to complete it but ended up doing it in 4 days! Once you pick this book up, you don't feel like putting it down, even if you don't wanna be a pick up artist.

The psychology mentioned in this book really gets you hooked onto the idea of persuasion, made me think about my ideal superpower as a kid of mind reading/control and shows that with the right knowledge, it really is possible.

Just buy it and read it already, you'll be rereading it before you know it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)