Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
38
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2013
This book explains all the content needed for A2 Physics in detail, cutting out all of the boring context that isn't necessary. It explains things well and in a concise manner. It is very useful, however I would use it in conjunction with the AQA textbook as they both have their strengths and weaknesses and compliment each other well. If you can't use both for whatever reason, go with this textbook instead.
It also contains 3 of the 4 optional modules which is an extra bonus.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
The book is great with clear Explanations and good practice questions. However it should not be called "the complete course" considering it blatantly misses out the Applied Physics Optional Module of Unit 5. I wish i knew before hand.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Despite the cover proclaiming this is the "complete course" and the description using words like "comprehensively", this book makes no mention of Unit 5 Option C: Applied Physics, making it 17% INcomplete for any students taking that module. I was disappointed to find this out. It's one thing to leave out a chapter for reasons of efficiency, but entirely another to fraudulently claim the textbook is complete.

I should say that the rest of the book is very well written, concise, and informative, with real emphasis put on explaining things clearly. It's a shame the book is marred by the sizeable omission mentioned above.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
much better than the school textbook, explains much better and in an understandable manner. and it tells you what you do and dont need for the exams-so you dont spend ages trying to memorise derivations...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
CGP books are always easy to understand and fun to read. Studying from them is quick and not as boring as other textbooks.
The book includes a lot of diagrams and pictures which help with understanding difficult concepts.
Reading the topic before or after a lesson really clears up your understanding of what the teacher has taught in the class.
The end of page questions and end of unit past paper questions are very useful to get your grades up and ensure you have covered the topic to the best of your ability.
This is probably the best textbook you can get as an A level student.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Really great book, very concise and understandable. It goes through the entire syllabus and explains everything in a simple and practical way. The only downside is that is a bit too heavy, since all the optional units are included. I would definitely recommend this to anyone studying A2 Physics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
Honestly, this is the best book on the market that I've seen for AQA, and one of the best A-level books I've seen. The clarity and simplicity of language without dumbing down the content is fantastic. The books are divided up nicely onto two page spreads that allow them to fit nicely in with lessons that can either be integrated into the classroom, or allow students to follow up work at home. The questions with full solutions are also a great touch. A must-have for any serious A-level student who wishes to improve self-sufficiency, and would recommend to any teacher.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Used to have the AQA nelson thornes textbook for as and I didn't find it helpful at all so I bought this one for a2.
Received it the next day after I got the dispatch email and I am sure I have clicked the free 3-5 days delivery service!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Fantastic book for use in conjunction with other a level physics textbooks! Not quite sure why the optional unit for turning points is not included though?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
Very good book...I found it better than the AQA one I was given by my school. Be aware that it doesnt have the applied physics optional module.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)