Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2010
Good value for money, and useful for getting good marks in the exam (well, in the practise ones I've done!).

One observation is that, although everything is covered, there is a lack or specific detail in some parts, and in other parts where there *is* this detail, it isn't explained as clearly as CGP could have.

The glossary at the back is *very* helpful for gaining good marks on the terminiology AO (Assessment Objective), but it seems they have interpreted the "Systematic & perceptive" part of the AOs incorrectly as the "system" it provides for analysis seems too basic to me.

Glad I bought it though!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
I went through this revision guide with my A2 English Language teacher (who is an expert) - most parts were useful but a whole section isn't relevant to the exam. Also, many of the topics discussed such as phonology aren't likely to come up in an exam and parts are over simplified. The section on children's acquisition is useful but brief, particualy the page on writing which is very vague. Overall this is useful if you're looking to supplement your knowledge but if this were all you were going to rely on you'd find yourself missing out things.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Good helpful book where information is divided into short concise chapters with at a glance bullet points etc of all the key facts and points you need to know for the exams!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
This book is really good at summarizing information and making it easy to remember. I recommend using this in addition to the main AQA textbook which is more detail. But the layout is a lot simpler, condensed, an easy read. The glossary is also very helpful for terminology. very good! and price is reasonable too. everyone in my class has purchased one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
Although the jokes are really cheesy at times, the actual revision content is fantastic. Covers everything you need to know in concised, clear summary points. Layout and design is clear and looks great. I didn't expect the "Frameworks" section which is really useful as a reminder for some things you might've forgotten from AS. It's a shame I didn't get this earlier as there's even a guidance section on the coursework. A definite recommend for anyone doing A2 English Lang!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
CGP always do a good job with their revision guides and this is no exception. Laid out nicely into easy-to-navigate sections and key words highlighted. Not a complete revision by any stretch for A2 as so much more information is needed for A-level but a good starting point for revision and summary of key points and ideas/theories etc. A lot cheaper on Amazon than elsewhere, and nice and thin due to only including the information needed for AQA B exam board.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
Brilliant item. Covers all the topics in the A2 course and touches on aspects of the AS course. Nicely colour coordinated and light hearted humour make it less like revision and more like reading :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Must have for A2 AQA English Language. I am using it now and puts all the exam specification in understandable chunks, although could be more in depth in terms of context required for the exam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
I brought the AS guide last year and liked how the layout was. So I brought the A2 guide. It has been helpful when revising for my mock in a few weeks and actual exams in the summer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
It breaks down all the individual sections we need to know down. If you're like me and you haven't been taught much, this is really helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse