Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2010
Simply great to catch up on many fundamentals. If you like colourful diagrams, choppy simple explanations, you'll like this. It is well formatted into the main sections of the syllabus.
Its also got useful practice and exams questions to have a go at, but you'll need to read elsewhere to fully grasp the AS Physics syllabus. The questions that appear on the real exam are generally more involving than what you'll be practicing with on this edition. Would recommend to gain that extra edge!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
Yes, the jokes are terrible, but it's light hearted informal tone and colourful pictures and diagrams makes it "fun" to revise. It's not amazingly detailed, but it gets to the point and outlines the key things you should know, and then if you want you can look it up further for more detail and clarity. It's a must have, easy to read and understand, much better than pages of boring black and white text.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
This CGP revision guide is a good aid for anyone studying Physics at AS Level. As a revision guide, it covers all the required topics, but I must stress that it does not cover them in enough detail to achieve the top grades. Like all other CGP guides, the concepts are well explained and nicely summarised. The layout is excellent with all the topics subdivided into manageable chunks. Also, as with all CGP guides you can expect plenty of jokes to make you cringe.

I would recommend that you purchase this guide, however, you should make sure you have another source to fill in the gaps.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
This author of this textbook obviously has a great sense of humour, as shown by the frequent quips and puns which serve to break up revision and make it a much lighter task. This is definitely one of the better resources.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Its okay I would still recommend it to people looking for a revision guide

Like
- nice friendly layout like all other CGP books
- explains waves and optics extremely well (best book I have found for it)
- explains most of the materials section well including the graphs which I struggled on

Dislike
- moments calculations are a lot more complex in actual exam papers and this book does not provide sufficient help on this section
- parts of the conservation of energy could be better explained
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
This book pretty much carried me through AS physics, however, if you are wanting to achieve an A-grade. This should not be the method of revision you choose to take. It is very simplified, and that will reflect in your final grade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
Not enough detail. I WOULD ONLY RECOMMEND THIS AS A GUIDE. The actual AQA text book is boring and goes in to TOO MUCH detail. Why can't there ever be a book with exactly the necessary. The CGP books are usually good and especially the Chemistry ones, however just using this one can make you fail the exam- well thats what happened to me. Not enough detail to get an A. If you're aiming for a B, its fine but tbh, the examples are too easy and can give you false hope. Buy this book if you are aiming for a B. If you want an A, stick with the other stuff you have.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Bought this book because my teacher is so lame and can't teach anything. It really helps with my modules and I thank it greatly as I seriously do not think I could pass my AS level without this book.... the topics are way better explained than the textbook and it has concisely what is needed for the exam. If you are studying AS-level AQA physics YOU MUST BUY THIS REVISION GUIDE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
This helped me a lot during my as physics exam. I managed to learn almost all of my equations off by heart and even put in time to learn the suvat equations even though they are given to you in the exam!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
This revision guide is totally relevant to the course. However, it does not include some very vital parts of the specification. I have compared it to the AQA Physics A specification and it does not give information on everything you need to know. Most of the information you need is in this guide, but not all of it. If you are aiming for an A-grade at AS-level you will need to use other revision materials such as the course textbook to gain complete understanding of the specification. This revision guide alone will not get you an A-grade.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse