Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 August 2015
CGP books are really good, recommend for everyone doing exams, they just make it so easy to understand concepts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Quite basic, even for a book dedicated to revision... I'll be looking elsewhere nextime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
This CGP Biology revision guild is very good as long as you have learnt everything on your proper text book. The book is informative about exams and tells you how to answer application and how science work questions. however, the only drawback is that it is not very detailed for a thorough revision. therefore, as i said before, as long as you have learnt the knowledge from a proper text book, this book will be great for revision!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
As a student who struggled with AS Biology last year this came in so handy. The AQA textbook which is supplied by many 6th forms/schools/colleges etc can be very daunting and use 100 words to explain something that this CGP textbook explains in simple terms in about 10! As an earlier review said, where it lacks detail it makes up for it in it's simplicity & easiness to get your head around it. It has many quirky ways of helping you remember certain processes which I find useful. Definitely recommend it to ALL AS students it's extremely helpful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
This book is a useful tool for anybody starting the course. What it lacks is detail, and I have found that a lot of the explanations are simplified in comparison to the AQA Textbook which is endorsed by AQA. I would still recommend this though, because if you're not scientifically-minded like me and you can't really be bothered to read around the jargon in the texbook, this helps a considerable amount.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
Ignore the comments that this book lacks depth. This was the only book I used to revise from. I did not use my class notes or text book at all. The only other thing I did was to do all the past papers. I got 98% in Biol 1 and 100% in Biol 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
Read from the textbook too if you want a high grade but this contains most of the stuff you'll need for the exams and it even has 'examples' which almost identically matched the exam questions I had. Got me an A.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
really good, but has no where near the same amount of information that my other AQA textbook has. Whether this is an advantage or not (dependent on whether you would rather have a simple understanding or not) is up to you, but i find its handy to have when you want to understand hard topics in a simple way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
This product so far has been okay, maybe missing out some minor detail which could be useful during a lesson, but generally a simple and easy to use book, with so far all key terms needed and a functional layout. Could be a bit more vibrant so it's a little more interesting to read, but the questions and details provided are good.

For some reason my cover says revision guide not complete revision and practice, but it has exactly the same inside so I can't complain; ironically I bought second hand to save price and maybe get some free notes and annotations but even though it said may be highlighting there was nothing so I suppose this is a good thing?! XD worth to buy in ACCOMPANIMENT to another book,

I have also bought AQA student support materials As Biology unit 1 (leaf cover) And AS level bology for AQA student book CgP (DNA cover) which overall cover everything perfectly - recommend leaf and DNA covers books to be honest but this was cheap and simplified them both so I can at Keats use this first and then build on it with the others - for the price worth the buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Since reading many different reviews on this CGP revision guide I decided to purchase it to see for myself.Overall compared with the large textbook students receive from schools it is highly useful, it covers the topics in as much depth as possible, the larger textbook can have alot of excess information you don't really need for the exams hence if you learn your stuff from lessons along with the specification and use this guide in the run up to your exams you'll do great.
Clear layout,colourful and those priceless CGP jokes make this product worthwhile.
However it does miss a small amount of detail you need to know specifically on protein structure so do use other resources alongside.
If you're struggling to understand AS level biology just buy it - it will help !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)