Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
329
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2012
Please, get past the front cover. This book has so much more to say than the ice cream girl suggests.

Not only is it laugh-out-loud funny (there's a thing with a Toilet Duck, I'll say no more) but it deals with the really serious issue of how some men make women feel about how they look.

And how they eat.

And the hypocrisy of not-very-fit old blokes with big appetites telling women how they should behave around food.

Because it's a well-written piece of fiction - Stella Newman clearly knows what to do with a pen as well as a cake tin - Pear Shaped is totally absorbing about James and Sophie's relationship. But you can substitute for James all the powerful communicators who tell women what to look like and what to buy - and what to deny themselves - in order to look that way. And you can substitute for Sophie all the women who struggle daily with how we're 'supposed' to be.

It's important for all of us that Sophie breaks free of James (read the book to find out if she does...!)

Because, despite the daft cover, there's a lot more than ice cream at stake.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
This was just such a great read. I started it last night and finished it under my desk at work today...
Despite the chick-lit cover, Pear Shaped isn't your typical romance with a bit of baking thrown in. Instead this is a heart-felt exploration of an unbalanced relationship and the damaging impact it can have on your mind and body.
The heroine, Sophie is warm and likeable and the writing is very sharp witted and well observed. At times I couldn't believe that Sophie was putting herself through such emotional heart ache, but actually this was the book's strength - we've all been in this situation, or something close to it.
The story was very fast paced, so much so that I might have to read it through a second time to pick up all the delicious foodie bits.
I'm looking forward to the next Stella Newman (maybe with a better cover next time?)
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
This was responsible for me staying awake until after 4am as I couldn't put this down. For fans of chick lit it is such a satisfying read and I'm hoping that there is another from this author. It made me angry (at James), it made me well up a little (for Sophie) and my goodness did it make me hungry!!!!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
Initially I was intrigued by the title - as a pear-shaped person whose past love life was frequently pear-shaped I absolutely related to Sophie. Yes, James Stephens is a horrid person, but surely many of us have been addicted to the highs and lows in an emotionally abusive relationship. Stella Newman's style has a real bite (no pun intended though I did find the way she writes about food fascinating and fluent) - I zipped through this book all too quickly. Sophie is a well-rounded and engaging character - I hope we'll get a sequel and a movie!
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
I seldom foray into chic lit (never is probably a more accurate description) so I was a little apprehensive about trying something so drastically different to what I normally read, but I am really glad I did. I couldn't put this book down. I started on a Sunday morning and finished at 3 am in the middle of the night. I am a 29 year old "blokey bloke", not the typical type of person who would read this material but I would say it was the most I have laughed since I can remember. I must thank Stella Newman the author, she made me realise I have been missing out on some seriously good humour and good literature does not have to be so serious! The last 20 or 30 novels I have read over the last 12 months, whilst the lion's share excellent reads, were extremely dark. Too many heads being chopped off, bodies being run over, knives being utilised for the wrong reasons and so on. Pear Shaped was such a refreshing change.

The other reason I enjoyed it so much, good humour aside, is the endearing lead character Sophie Klein, because I also experienced an extremely painful breakup over the past 2 or 3 years. It made me look back on it and realise many things I could have done differently, I could relate to her on so many levels. I guess it's given me some closure on everything. If your life has been one big perfect flow without any hiccups then maybe, just maybe, this isn't the book for you but if like me you've experienced some of the things Sophie has it does make you reflect on it all and ask the question - is all the misery really worth it.

I'm not a big fan of doing a synopsis you can read it at the top of the page. Overall some great characters, in particular her boss Devron, hilarious for all the wrong reasons and some wholly realistic situations that have probably happened to many of us at some point in our lives. If you don't typically read this genre, give it a go you won't be disappointed, if nothing else it's a real good laugh!

Thanks for reading my review.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
This book is an easy read and you wont want to put it down as I was glued to find out what happened. You will fall in love with the main character Sophie Klein and feel every emotion that she goes through as most people know about getting their hearts broken. I was a little disappointed in the ending as I would of liked to of known more and it ended quite suddenly. There was one bit I read that I think I laughed for about 10 mins re-reading it over and over and killing myself laughing, I even read it out to my husband and he laughed too. I really hope there will be a sequel!!!!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
There is so much to recommend this book. If you've ever felt bad about your body or soul, or been in gale force love that defied the laws of logic, or invested everything in someone that used emotional manipulation to stay in control, then Pear Shaped is a liberating and possibly painfully truthful read. Luckily it's also hilarious, packed with wry observations, drunken indiscretions, sex in art galleries and custard donuts.

This isn't just chick lit. This is Stella Newman chick lit.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
Pear Shaped had me hooked from the get go. As a MAN, albeit one who has occasionally (and unfairly) been accused of feyness, I'm not normally found devouring Chick Lit. Although I am one of the few men I know who confesses to actually enjoying Sex In The City. Yep, I'm straight.

Stella's debut was punchy, pacey with great characterisation. It's clear the author has a love of food which underpins the story throughout - and the foodie tips at the end show she's one gal with excellent taste.

Made me laugh, made me sad in places, and it was a real page turner. If I was you I'd buy it, get some doughnuts and start reading.
Just don't be buying any sub standard Tesco ones.

Or you'll have Stella on your back.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
I absolutely loved this book. It's a wry, witty, heart-breaking and heart-warming take on relationships between men and women and modern city life. The characters are well-developed and a lot of fun. And it hooked me - I stayed up to 1.30am in an increasingly cold bath to finish it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
A great read, fast, funny and realistic ... but be aware - it is light on the surface - but if you have (whether you realise it or not) unhealed scars from yr own 'James', this book may make you re-visit stuff you had efficiently packed away years ago. I did. and i cried like it was way back then, cried like i really should have done for just one more day back then - but i didnt - i packed it away n brisked on - n this book helped me finally grieve. Such a scarily accurate account of just how much it hurts n how ridiculous we become (except in our own minds). If you have no badly-wrapped issues in yr attic, read on and enjoy and laugh and observe. But do be prepared to have scar tissue pressed with the most natural, easy language - yr laughing and crying before you realise yr laughing and crying at yrself xxx an incredible talent, this writer xx
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here