Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
13
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
It's ok not as good as the first two books in the series but still readable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Loved it, great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
Coming upon a Stephen Hunter book in a Charity shop, I realised how brilliant this writer is and therefore have purchased every book ever written by him and have the latest to be published on order. Guns and the good and bad characters intertwine, two generations of gunmen through wars and American history. They are gripping reads, can't put them down. I am 73 and love everyone of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 November 2008
While lacking the epic grandeur of the earlier Swagger novels, this is still thriller writing par excellence. Dark, terse and explosive - Hunter writes smart, emotive fiction and as ever delivers a thriller that truly thrills on all levels. The plot is bog-standard crime, but it is the action and characters that mark Hunter out as something special, and here he doesn't disappoint.

A must have for Hunter devotees, and the chance to discover something special for newcomers - when it comes to the world of thrillers there is no-one to match Hunter, he is a stone-cold genius.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I was surprised by this series of books as I would never have previously considered them. I mixed up my kindle with a friends on a plane flight and got hooked on the second book in the series. Since then I have read them all apart from this (see later).
If you like the books in the series you will like this unless you are British as the colloquialisms are not quite right and are rather annoying. I was enjoying it but never finished it as it kept crashing my kindle at 82%.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
I truly enjoyed reading this novel, Hunter has not lost his mojo.
Again Bob Lee Swagger does what he does best,stoic perseverance.
Also a nice twist in the story at the end of the book made matters even more interesting
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
Stephen Hunters books tend to fall into 2 groups for me, those that hook you quickly and those that require a second read. I think that this one falls into the second catagory. It is a good book, but perhaps not one of this best. the story takes some time to get going, but it is enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
The early Bob Lee Swagger books were great but of late - from the ludicrious '47th Samurai' onwards - things have drastically declined. This latest novel indicates an author, possessing a great franchise but bored with it, just dialling in the minimum effort to get published. It's poorly written, the characters are two dimensional (and that's being generous), and the plot's a joke. The bad guy - who's a superstar driver - gets killed because he doesn't realise a truck he's followed for miles has another car in front of it! Stephen Hunter should have more respect for his readers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here