Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
56
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2017
I have just finished this book. I wanted the horrid, filthy, disgusting, lazy "idiot" to die over and over. A huge see-saw of emotion for me in reading this book. As time went on I thought, in this chapter Alice would have the courage to leave her Father. Towards the later chapters I became angry Alice stayed and endured the extreme humiliation. Surely an adult can walk away and survive.

I cannot even begin to imagine the deep dark hole Alice entered to try and survive. Provided you can stomach the many types of abuse inflicted upon Alice and her Mother it is worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
This was a very emotional and truthful account of someone's life. What she and her family suffered at the hands of their own father is just unimaginable. But a happy ending for Alice and her siblings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
What this girl went through doesn't even bare thinking. To finally escape and star up to your torturer is a massive feat. And that's what she does
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Brilliant story but terribly sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
Good book check or people who like t hi is type of book not for the faint hearted very sad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
A sad, sad story. Its difficult what to write, because this book is so harrowing. A whole families life wrecked because they had a sadistic animal living in their midst. I admire Alice and her brothers loyalty to their mother, and I know it is not easy to escape from a man like this. However, all these innocent kids lives were ruined and a mothers first and foremost role is to protect her children. I am afraid I feel the mother neglected her responsibilities. I dont like to say this because I know she was much loved by her children, however, I feel the mother allowed the abuse to go on because she was too weak to do otherwise and poor Alice was left to do what her mother wouldnt or couldnt. All I can say is, If I had been the mother I am afraid if I wasnt strong enough to walk out with my children then , well lets say, ..... he had to sleep some time. Alice seems to live with so much guilt because she could not help her mother. All I can say to Alice is, "love your mothers memory, but feel no guilt and forge a happy life for your and your children. You deserve it x"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
I read your book because I was a victim myself. Not by a relative. But a friend of the family from the age of 7. I can't remember how long for. But all my live I had trouble with sex,however I have a lovely husband and we are married for 26years. I'm 54years old now, but still I have problems. Feel guilty about what happened to me and even I know it wasn't my fault I keep thinking it was. I would had a more loving relationships with my husband if I had gone in terapy, but I didn't, and that's sad as it is the only thing what is wrong in or relationship. When I was in my 40 's I told mum. She didn't believe me and said all kids play doctor and nurses. I was really hurt, I was 7 he was 18years old. My husband said I shouldn't read books about abuse as it depresses me. But I feel drown to it, because nobody seems to understand how you feel. I think you have to be a victim to understand. But what your and other books about abuse do is giving other people or young children the courage to speak up
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
This girl's father was SO evil that I actually felt angry at her for not telling the police or her relatives. It turns out that when the shee-yit hit the fan, everyone she knew felt that way. When her husband found out, he was so mad about her letting it continue that he divorced her. That sounds bad, but you'll understand when you read what she passively let her father get away with.

Technically well written because it was ghost-written.

Lost one star for not being more explicit about the sex. I don't want it to be porn, but she's so avoidant that I wasn't sure what was going on, and that detracts from the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)