Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 18 May 2011
The first rugby match I ever observed was the 1990 'Grudge match' between us and Scotland. I was only a 10 year old kid but my dad's reaction after the game said it all. He was gutted by the result but he told me a few things about their coach....a Mr Ian McGeechan. Fast track to 1997 and 2009 and the Lions tours to SA. I will never forget these tours. Immense viewing. Brilliant win in 1997, and so darn close in 2009. Sheer passion and pride in the Lions shirt. The architect of our success was...a Mr Ian McGeechan. This book brings back some exciting memories of these times. For a non-rugby playing man like me this book provides a superb insight into Sir Ian McGeechan. Particularly his coaching methods, his passion for the Lions shirt and what it represents, his loyalty to not only Scotland but to his Yorkshire roots and to his family. This is a solid book, but it is a bit disjointed and repetitive in places. Plus even I know that Willie John McBride was nae Scottish! Overall an enjoyable read.

Organised Chaos - I will always remember this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2010
I purchased this book on the back of the Lions hype after being fasinated by Geech. The book was a bit laboured to begin with with ramblings about cricket and the War, however, once he started talking about rugby it became very interesting - especially the lure of rugby league and a professional career. Lion Man provides an inside look at the toll coaching takes and the sacrifice Geech made, particularly the amount of time he took unpaid from his job to give to the sport. At times the book becomes repetitive, yet never so bad that you would put it down. There are moving moments in the book, most notably when a band member approaches him before his Scotland debut and asks about his father only to be told by Geech that he had passed away. The fact that his father never saw him play for Scotland still seems hard for him to accept. His arguments for choosing to play for Scotland, despite his wife's objections, are put forward providing humour. Intrestingly the book covers everything from club rugby to the latest Lions tour - giving his honest opinions on players past and present, with frankly brilliant stories about the Lions tours he has been apart of. For an autobiography its quite interesting and certainly Geech's story is one of the best in rugby terms and well worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2017
Didn't enjoy this book. Didn't finish it. I'm 29, probably a generation young for the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2017
One of the Rugby Unions books that every lover of the game (or lover of sports generally) should have on their shelves. Would be in anyones top ten selection & somehow I think there could still be a few extra chapters & an updated version 'THE LION MAN' may care to write if a publisher asks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2013
Ian McGeechan's writing style (I assume he wrote it himself) is quite unusual in these days of ghosted biographies - quite clipped and almost as if he were typing up notes, and organised by themes rather than in strict chronological order. But once you get used to it this is a really interesting read.

McGeechan was a fine player and an even better coach, who has worked with club, country and Lions teams in the amateur and professional eras. His book gives a real insight into what it was like to play and coach over a time of huge change in the game, and sheds some unexpected light on tactics and players he has worked with.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2014
A great rugby book by a great rugby man. I don't know Ian McGeechan but I've always admired what he has achieved. This book tells you much about the man himself, where he comes from and his progress through his rugby career including The Lions of course. You also pick up a lot about the rugby players he had played and worked with. The book is written so that I could actually hear his voice in my head as I read it. This book is a "keeper" that I will read again & again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2014
Great account of the man who not only knows what it is to be a Lion, but also embodies and represents the greatest team in Britsh & Irish sport. Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2015
Good story. Boring in places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2014
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)