Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2015
Excellent quality item, interesting info within.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
Nice all you need to know :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
Really great cycle maintenance book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
This excellent book will please both new, as well as the more seasoned cyclist. It walks the reader through a very diverse and inclusive "cycling journey", from what clothes one may consider (anything from and between wind-proofing and jacket material to cleats and glasses for light relief) to all sorts of comprehensive hardware and ways of adjusting and servicing information(from various types of brakes to fitting new reducers and bushings). I particularly appreciated the sections with both every day practical tips, as well as the more detailed in depth advice (e.g. lazy way of keeping the chain clean and healthy versus chain deep-cleaning).

You'll find information on all main types of bicycles, from road, hybrid or mountain bikes, and also all sorts of background information that help the reader make a complete sense of why things are designed as they are, or work as they work.

Easy to understand, not extremely technically worded, detailed photos along very clearly explained guiding text of how to proceed to repair, replace, tune up anything from your derailleur, to roadside repairs. And just in case, a very helpful glossary is included at the end of the book.

The much more detailed information of this book (The Total Bike Maintenance Book, 304 pages) compared to the Haynes' equivalent (The Bike Book, 192 pages) also weighed seriously in my decision, you get some 50% more information.

I would unreservedly recommend this book and since finding all I needed in it after owing it for over a month, it gets my full 5 star vote.

Thanks go to author (Mel Allwood) for such top-shelf work but also to Amazon for great pricing, great service and free postage.

Last but not least, since a preview doesn't seem to be available for this book, here is a list of the Contents chapters:
1) Kitting out
2) Setting up
3) Basic tools and repairs
4) Brakes
5) Transmission
6) Wheels
7) Suspension
8) Bottom brackets and headsets
9) Components
10)Conclusion

You will enjoy using this book for many a year to come.
22 Comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Save yourself a lot of money and "do it yourself". Follow this book it's great, everything you need for the backyard mechanic. This volume pays for itself the first time you work on your bike.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
I purchased this book on the reviews shown and haven't been let down.
Yes you can go through the internet and get help that way but this is a lot quicker and clearer than some of the steps shown on you tube.
I have purchased books before and this is at the top of the tree.
There are clear photos of every step and with the right tools you can save yourself an expensive trip to the bike shop for repairs.
I have just saved myself £50 already yso that has already paid for itself.
We all tend to not bother giving our bikes a regular service and this book provides a simple full service for your bike.
I commute everyday on my bike and rely on it totally.
Having this book will get the best performance from your trusty stead and hopefully if not very rarely any break downs.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
The book is well thought out, written in a way that is easy to follow. It covers all aspects of cycling maintenance and repair, including advice on accessories and safety equipment. I think this is a must for any level of experience in cycling, as I'm sure even an experienced cyclist will find areas that are useful as a referral or reminder point, in order to maintain or repair their cycle.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
I am very pleased with this book and would certainly recommend it to anyone serious about wanting to work on their bike.

The book is very comprehensive covering all aspects of running and maintaining a bike. It covers all the different areas well and most importantly does so with lots of good quality colour photographs instead of diagrams. The text is clear and easy to follow.

I have just bought a new mountain bike and want the book to allow me to do as much myself as possible to keep it running well and fix and repair it as things wear or break. A lot of the parts and bike used in the book seem identical to my bike so should cover everything I need.

i have started to read the book cover to cover and have learnt a lot already.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Have just received this book from Walterstones who have price matched Amazon. Having in the past been an engineer I am very impressed by the way this book explaines procedures involved in the maintenance of cycles. It is both suitable for simple repaires or even more complex work on your cycle. Some of the components on cycles are now getting quite complex to adjust. This book helps to solve the the mysteries surrounding those components. Highly recommended and of course by buying it at Walterstones you know that some of the proceeds are going to support the infrastructure of the UK as I suspect they are paying there taxes.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)