Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
Great souvenir book of the London Olympics 2012.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 September 2012
As a paperback at a relatively low cost (it's kind of like a high quality bookazine) this was never likely to be a book for connoisseurs or the hipster's coffee table. It seems best suited to younger enthusiasts, but not necessarily exclusively so. There will be future tomes that dig deeper into every aspect of what made London 2012 an unforgettable time for us Brits. The other forthcoming official publication already looks certain to be among those: London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games : The Official Commemorative Book : An Official London 2012 Games Publication.

What this one does is focus solely on chronicling the sporting events on a day to day basis. That's part of the title's remit, of course, and it's entirely successful in that respect. On top of the writes-ups for each day is a complete index to every medal winner. The layout can be appreciated by all ages and in years to come. As memories begin to fade, it will be a guide worth having around and looking back on. Naturally Team GB is given star billing but the rest of the world is not forgotten. The likes of Korean weightlifters and American beach volleyballers (female beach volleyballers, if you must know) get full page photos accompanying their achievements.

Fans of photography books will be served less well. It's certainly not lacking in shots and all the big names are there but some of the most iconic images, already part of London 2012's folklore, are missing. There's no Bradley Wiggins sitting on his throne, no Mo doing the Mobot (although there is one of Bolt doing it beside him) and no Victoria Pendleton doing the heart shape hands gesture on the podium. Not to mention no Duke and Dutchess of Cambridge or David Beckham seemingly crashing every event or Wenlock the mascot trying to photo-bomb every athlete's lap of honour! And nothing to remind you of the celebrated Games Makers volunteers or the hundreds of thousands who turned up to see the torch on its journey to the capital. Basically, there's a lot of Olympians in the middle of running, jumping, cycling, rowing, swimming, etc. And why not?

The opening and closing ceremonies are covered but, again, so many photogenic scenes that Danny Boyle delivered are saved for another time. The forging of the rings is there but not the best shot available, taking up barely more than a quarter of one page. Also missing is the true poetic imagery of the fortnight like the full moon adding a sixth Olympic ring hanging from Tower Bridge, or the rings reflected in Bradley Wiggins' visor from the road as he homes in on his gold, or, well, Boris Johnson stuck on a zip wire.

'London 2012 Olympic Games: The Greatest Show on Earth: An official day-by-day photographic celebration' is a sporting book that tells a sporting story. There's a far bigger picture to look at, even before we get to thinking about the Paralympics, but that's another book for another day.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Well I haven't properly looked through the book yet, I've only flicked through, but from what I've seen the photos are absolutely fantastic, and are the memorable moments we've seen on TV countless times over since the games ended. The book doesn't take too long in analysing each section of the games, the opening and intro pages only taking up about 8 pages, before delving into all the action from each day of sport. At the back of the book you have the complete records of the 2012 games, and all the times and stats you could possibly need, along with the obligatory medals table.

It's a very sturdy book, solid, nice and glossy, and the production values are very high too. As a piece of history/keepsake, it's very good, but I feel the other official Olympics book is the real collectors edition here. Think of this as the spin off book. It's the perfect definition of a coffee table book, leave it lying around at Xmas and you'll see it being passed around more than a box of chocolates.
33 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
Really loved this book - just looking at the fantastic photos brought back all the memories of what really was the greatest show on earth. Some really great photos, great day by day summary, and at the back, a summary of the medalists in each event and full final medal table included too.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
This was just what I wanted as buying for a non reader who enjoyed following the olympics on tv. Could have had more of the iconic images from the games ie Bolt and Mo doing their victory poses.However on the whole it fitted the bill nicely and some of the photographs are spectacular!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
If you're teetering on whether to buy this book or not, I would definitely recommend you buy it. It's very nice quality and the price (currently £6.45) gives excellent value which I can't fault - particularly as I know highstreet chains like Waterstones would charge far more. All the pictures inside are fantastic and I love how the book is a day-by-day celebration detailing the highlights of every day. At the back of the book there is also the final standings (United States first, China second, UK third etc.) and every medal winner is also mentioned for the event they succeeded in.

I'm very much looking forward to giving this book as a present for Christmas. I think that this book is a really great thing to remember the London 2012 Olympic Games by.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
This is a gem of a record of the Games and the results. Not too cumbersome, not too wordy, this day by day record of the events provides all the essentials in a handy format. However, I missed the inclusion of the times and distances or the multiple athletic events (Men's Decathlon, Jessica Ennis's Heptathlon), which would have benefitted by inclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
geat book lots of good quality photos backed up with facts and information about the Games. My son loves this book and goes back to it again and again. uses it for reference in projects and loves to study the world records for his own interest. from start to finish great book for all the family
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
Very disappointing it had nothing about handball, only one photo and that’s was of a player from another country.
It was the first time GB had competed with a men’s & ladies team.
I thought the book should have included all the representative’s in team GB.
Disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse