Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
44
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2006
This is a seriously beautiful book - probably the largest astronomy book I've ever seen, and the reproduction on the images is simply brilliant - I'm amazed at the level of detail in some of them (especially double-page stunners such as the Orion and Helix nebulae. The design is stylish without being overfussy, and as the previous reviewer said, it benefits immensely from being printed on black.

The text also seems well-written and informative (okay there's a handful of typos that I've noticed, but it all seems factually accurate and up to date, which is ultimately more important). And the diagrams look beautiful, for the most part - I must say that I looked straight through the Venus orbit error at first glance and had to go back and check when I saw it pointed out here. Bit of a "D'oh!" moment, definitely, and I'm sure those responsible are kicking themselves, but it's such an obvious howler that it can't possibly have been intentional. It would be good if they get that sorted out for a reprint, but you only get to rate these things once, and I'm not going to let it ruin my enjoyment of an otherwise beautiful book!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2006
I have more "coffee table" books on Astronomy than I do surface area on my coffee tables. This book makes it so I could get rid of all the rest as it is not only more complete but more beautiful than the rest combined.

There are some errors in it that make absolutely no sense why they were made (spelling and the Venusian orbit issue listed above). However... the science is solid and more importantly for a book like this, the images are unmatched in print.

Just like any book of this type, fingerprints on the pages are inevitable and annoying against a black background, but I wouldn't trade for white backgrounds because these images need the black to really show their visual range.

The information is also very current. Pluto is not considered a planet, the idea of neutrinos contributing to Dark Matter, and a host of other relatively recent developments are included. The progression is also very clean and straight forward starting at earth and progressing out to the large scale of the universe, which is something most of these books don't spend enough time on despite it being one of the most fascinating developments in cosmology recently.

If you want to learn the science, this isn't quite the book you're looking for. It's awkward to hold for long reading sessions due to the size, and not exceptionally in depth. However, the images can't be beat (not until Hubble's replacement goes live in a few years) and the science is comprehensive enough to let you know what you are looking at.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2007
I have the Dorling Kindersley book "Universe" and thought that was pretty stunning and difficult to beat, but then I read a review of this book on one of the astronomy forums and had a look on Amazon. Having read the reviews below I was assured this would be worth the purchase. The reviews did not lie!! This is quite simply the best photographic astronomy book out there at the moment. If you just want one book to inspire people and make them gawp at the awesomeness of what lies beyond our atmosphere this is surely it. The only problem I have now is finding shelf space for it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
This spectacular book comes within an ace of being a truly superb volume.

It falls short of the mark with some mildly moronic page designs where pictures are separated from their captions quite unnecessarily and impractically, especially when given the adequacy of the space available. That text boxes are plonked over critical image segments (when they are not floating disconnected on others) suggests strongly that the book was designed by people with little feel for the subject.

Author Giles Sparrow's overall grasp of a extensive subject is quite commendable. However, the book is marred in places where his lack of expertise does shines through with instances of indifferent text and a failure to deliver clinching insights - something that could easily have been rectified with more proficient and knowledgeable editors.

Similarly, in addition to errors already mention in other reviews, some of the 'facts' vary uncomfortably, as with the distance of Betelgeuse stated as 427 light years distant on one page and 440ly on another. Andromeda is worryingly described in one single caption as being 200 000 light years in diameter and 250 000 light years across just a mere 6 lines later. Its stellar population as stated at 400 billion stars is way short of the accepted value of 1 trillion stars..... and so on. The otherwise excellent schematic of Jupiter's moons is blemished by distances which are out by a factor of ten, suggesting again editors unfamiliar with numbers. It sounds harsh, but the sheer lavishness of the book outshines these failings.

Generally, the choice of pictures is superb, but one may quibble that better Lunar and Mars photos are available from the same sources, and that too much space was devoted to nebula purely on the basis of prettiness.

But the real excellence of this book lies in the technical brilliance of the printing and image transfer. It is formidably superb. (The Chinese printers are advised to have their name printed in future editions.)

In terms of sheer volume, ink on page and stunning images, Cosmos is unbeatable.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2006
I've seen many astronomy books that purport to illustrate our universe from the solar system outwards, and usually been disappointed. Too often they feature outdated pictures, or have poor reproduction.

To be honest, the blurb does this book a slight injustice. This isn't a field guide (although it is comprehensive in the subjects it covers) - if you didn't know what a globular cluster was before purchase, you probably won't afterwards either. Accompanying text is informative but fairly brief.

This is astronomy porn. This book reproduces, with superb detail and clarity, huge format (36 x 44cm) up-to-date images from Hubble and the latest crop of solar system probes, including Cassini and the Mars rovers. Even the microwave background image is from WMAP. All bases are covered, from the planetary satellites to 2MASS and the Hubble ultra deep field.

The cover price is actually UKP50, making this an absolute bargain. Many of the pictures are printed full-page, and I'm very tempted to buy a second copy to use as a bargain source of astronomy posters...
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2007
Yes, it has it's inaccuracies and typos, but this is an absolutely stunning book. It's meant to be a book to enable us to sit back and amire the fraction of the Universe we know in all it's glory.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
Space has never looked so big or so beautiful. I've never seen a book like this before - page-after-page of huge, awe-inspiring starscapes almost defy the senses! The images alone make the book worth purchasing, but you also get a clearly written guide to wonders of the universe, starting with Earth and moving ever deeper in space. Unmissable!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
I bought this as a gift for my other half who has a keen interest in all things space, with a particular love of the imagary. He was absolutely silent for the first hour or so that he had the book, only speaking to talk about something that had particularly sparked his interest. It's written in such a way that even the most unfamiliar with the topic can easily read and enjoy it. The pictures are superb, and are done real justice by being printed on glossy black paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2006
There may be no end of typing slips in this book - as an earlier reviewer says. I don't know - I haven't looked. What this book gives you for a very small amount of money are utterly overwhelming photographs of space. The pictures are mindblowing and left me breathless and awed. There are no words to describe these wonders and staggering sights - so why worry about the words when you can see the beauty!

Anyone with a soul and heart will find the book an utter delight and deeply moving experience - the beauty of the mystery and the wonder of the depths of this vast and glorious creation in which we live! John 1.1-3!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 29 August 2013
I bought this amazing book very recently while out and about on my local High Street. It was the very dictionary definition of an 'impulse buy', especially as I'd only popped out to get a paper and a packet of Poppets. Still, you know how it is - one minute you're completely in control of your impulse buying... the next, you're on your way back to your office with some bubble bath, three pairs of 15 denier stockings and a book about the cosmos. It could happen to anyone, right? No? Oh well, that must just be me then.

Although I defy anyone not to be as impressed as I was by the photographs in this mighty work. You may need to be built like Geoff Capes to be actually able to browse through it reasonably comfortably though. Mind you, I suppose dragging this around the house could be incorporated into some kind of bespoke fitness regime which may eventually give you all the muscles you need for such a monumental task. My goodness me - that makes this tome even MORE impressive.

I am, by no stretch of anybody's imagination, a scientist. Consequently, most of the scientific facts and figures in this book go so far above my head that they leave contrails. I simply do not have the sort of brain that can process the idea of space on such a massive scale. Although, having said that, it seems I may not be alone there. Even the author of the foreword to this book (a lady called Dava Sobel who, chivalry almost forbids me from admitting, I had no awareness even of the existence of before struggling back to my office with this book), even she seems to suggest that it is a pretty daunting task to imagine the size of the cosmos, even for scientists like her. I think I love her.

It is difficult to describe the illustrations in here without resorting to the sort of endless list of superlatives that might just make you question whether I am being blackmailed in some way by Giles Sparrow. However, such a list would be sincere. Anything from 'Awesome!' to 'Zowie!' would be more than justifiable on the back of these pictures.

I notice one or two of my fellow reviewers have referred to 'errors' within these 224 pages. All I can say is, I didn't notice any. Hardly surprising I suppose, given my lack of scientific nous. Still, even if there ARE errors, I hardly think it matters in the general scheme of things. Oh, and that diagram on pages ten and eleven which is criticised in one of the other reviews is perfectly fine in the copy of this book that I have. It actually shares those pages with a little factoid to get you going for starters; Apparently the Sun contains 99.86% of the Solar System's mass... and the gas giant planets account for over 90% of what's left over.

The rest? Oh, that went on to form Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars! Mind-blowing, eh?

Tragically, I remembered after I had bought this that, while 'Cosmos' would be perfect as a coffee-table book, my own coffee-table is currently reserved for another hardbacked behemoth, Dinosaurs. That meant I had to quickly come up with an alternative destination for this particular beauty that would really do it justice. And that is now (temporarily!) the home of this friend of mine who is currently trying to sell his bachelor pad. I like to think it makes him look intelligent which, believe you me, takes some considerable doing. I'm pretty confident that any prospective homebuyers through his door will find this book absolutely irresistible. And, who knows, while they are grappling with the vastness of the cosmos and the size of the universe, it's just possible that they might not notice just how poky his flat is... .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)