Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
15
3.9 out of 5 stars
Instead of a Letter
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 January 2014
After catching the wonderful Alan Yentob interview with Diana Athill a couple of years ago on BBC I have been slowly working through her books - too good to rush them all at once.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Excellent; quality very high, well-packaged. Will use seller again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Good but rather sad book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
A totally honest reflection on Diana's younger days. Superbly written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
A delightful book beautifully expressed and I would recommend it to a friend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
A very honest book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Brave honest telling..a woman who speaks her truth and overcomes sadness ,but nevertheless finds a life that is fulfilling.l
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
I read this before I knew much about Diana Athill and I would recommend it to anyone - humanity shines through in this very honest book which is very moving without being sentimental. It also spans so much recent history - WWI and WWII and the aftermath, it gives a very interesting social perspective from an priviledged background. Despite great sadness in some parts of Diana's story it is an uplifting book and empowering for women particularly.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
I found this to be a truly inspirational book by a magnificent woman and writer. Her honesty and respect for the need to be both truthful and engaging are a lesson worth learning for any writer. I'm just so glad I found it and urge those who haven't read it to do son ... soon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)