Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 January 2016
One of the best of Stevenson,s novels, in the manner of Kidnapped, which continues the adventures of David Balfour and Alan Breck.
Much adventure and skulduggery as you might expect together with some of Stevenson,s most beautiful prose..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
A few typos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
A great follow up to Kidnapped. Follow up books are quite often a letdown but not this one. Stevenson's gift for creating characters with whom readers emphasise is used to its fullest here. I just had to keep reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
The book is too wordy and lacks any real dramatic tension. The characters are nowhere near as strong as those in Kidnapped where even the minor characters like Cluny Macpherson and Robin Oig Macgregor add significant colour. Alan Breck, the wonderfully flawed hero of Kidnapped, does appear at the beginning and end of the book, but even he, one of the great character creations of English literature, cannot compensate for the sagging plot-line. James More Macgregor, who is Alan through a distorting mirror, does not have the subtlety of Alan; an irresponsible braggart who is bad is not as interesting as the good man who can think too much of himself and tends towards recklessness. Catriona herself is never quite captured. She comes over as a petulant child, which is understandable perhaps, given her age and the level of parental guidance she has received. For me, David Balfour, who had grown up under the tutelage of Alan, deserved more than this Catriona. And, sadly, so do we the readers of Kidnapped.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
Stevenson's far less well known and widely read sequel to "Kidnapped". A very believable "love story" and in no way an attempt to write "Kidnapped II". Some writers fall into the trap of writing to a formula. R.L.S. never did.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2002
Brilliant.It's as good as its prequel ,Kidnapped.
There is contrast between the two,as Kidnapped is set in the Scotish Highlands,amidst clan rivalry,whereas Catriona is set in the legal coruption and political intrigue of 18th century Edinburgh.I thoroughly enjoyed this book but there were a couple of chapters that were a bit lovey-dovey,which as a 13 year old boy I found extremly boring and uninteresting.It takes up the thread were Kidnapped left off with David Balfour going to give evidence against the hanging of James Stuart(James of the Glens)for his alleged part in the Appin Murder.I would give this book 10/10.Even though it has a few boring chapters it is still worthy of five stars.In short this is a great story of adventure and bravery and I feel sorry for anyone who has no intention of reading this brilliant book.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2003
I only recently got round to reading this thoroughly enjoyable book. Being named after the title character had stubbornly put me off reading it in my childhood, but upon recently realising that this was ridiculous I picked up one of the many copies that I own and started to read it - I couldn't put it down! If you loved Kidnapped or Treasure Island, you will really enjoy this. More adult and more politically focused story line. The romance may put younger male readers off a little! Enjoy ! Catriona
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
A brilliance of Kindle is that one can revisit books of one's youth at very little cost and with great convenience: as story telling I rate Treasure Island. Kidnapped and Catriona very much on the "top Shelf" thoroughly good reading
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
This is an excellent edition, with a long, scholarly and readable introduction, useful notes at the end of the book, and an essential glossary of Scots words. The glossary is very helpful for non-Scottish readers, especially as regards 'Catriona'.
Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
i have read Stevenson's Kidnapped sveral times but had forgotten that the story continues in
Catriona.. it could be subtitled "The further adventures of David Balfour".
- as in Kidnapped, Stevenson weaves the story of the fictional David around real people and events - the book begins with Balfour trying to get clemency for James Stewart (James o the Glen) falsely accused of the murder of the Red Fox (an actual event covered in Kidnapped).

This is a good enjoyable read - the more enjoyable as it was a free download to my Kindle
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Catriona
£4.85

Need customer service? Click here