Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2007
Excerpt from full review in Light Magazine
If you're interested in palmistry this is definitely for you. However, if you are a traditionalist be warned, it actively dismisses several ancient and seemingly outdated interpretations, in favour of ideas based on modern scientific evidence. This evidence gleaned from research using a minimum of one thousand case studies per item to even make it into this book.

It therefore reflects the changing shape of our lives and the changing lines of hands in today's modern culture, so be prepared to embrace the new and leave mystification behind.

If you'd like to hear more from this author tune in and listen to my interview with Johnny Fincham about this book on myspiritradio.com in association with o-books.
66 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2007
This is a fantastic book. Having trawled through loads of palmistry books, this one finally offers an easy to understand Palmistry course.
The layout of the book is pleasing to the eye and makes light reading of impressive content. Its well-spaced text and abundance of images make the learning points clear, with enjoyable references to celebrities.
The question and answer sections are a welcome learning aid. The reader is also given `Secret Palmist Assignments' to make learning fun.
Palmistry is simplified to its relevant basics here, and separated from its old ties to Astrology and fortune telling. It's presented in a factual and scientific light allowing the reader to develop a powerful real-life tool to discovering one's-self.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
This is a good book if you look for an introduction into Palmistry. The celebrity-examples are particulary entertaining, and overall the book is set out to make the subject easy to comprehend.

However, it does not cover everything there is to know about palmistry. I wouldn't say that it takes you to a 'professional-level', but it sure makes you want to know more!

I have studied palmistry since a few years and I bought this book for a friend who was interested to know more about it. I am going to get her a more comprehensiv book for her birthday in November, since there is soooooo much more to it than what this book gives away!
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
I bought this book as a complete beginner, having no prior knowledge to palmistry, apart from those vague, light-hearted guides you find in magazines.
Understandably, I thought this book would contain similarly vague and general explanations, but from the beginning, the author assures you that this is not a book for predicting your future, but rather a guide to learning more about yourself, and how you can work with your strengths/weaknesses to your advantage.

The author doesn't use traditional names for the lines or the fingers (e.g "Mirror finger" for index finger, "Emotional line" for Heart line), and this took some getting used to, but I soon found out that you take a whole new perspective because of this - learning that a short Life line doesn't mean an early death etc

I also liked that the author's language was down to earth and to the point, blending palmistry with a 21st century outlook, which I found very useful and refreshing, especially for a beginner. I learnt so much after only one day, because of the book's detailed and easy to use language and explanations.

The only disappointment was that the book was in black and white - but to be honest that's my own personal qualm (I study art), and doesn't affect the quality or your understanding of the book in any way, which is why I still rated in 5*.

Overall, a brilliant book for beginners!
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
This is a unique, intelligent, insightful, and brilliant book from start to finish. My congratulations to the Author! Cathal O'Briain, Author of "Powerful Mind through Self-Hypnosis" (O-Books)
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
This book is great summary of all key points you need to know when looking at a hand. Sensible down to earth non-mystifying approach. Brilliant.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
I am finding this book amazing, didn't realise you could get so much info from some ones hands,would recommend it to anyone. My friends are amazed at how accurate I am, even though I thought I knew them well, there have been a few surprises.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Fantastic easy to follow read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
Fascinating.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
Really interesting and easy to follow. Good illustrations and I am really enjoying reading this book. Good value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)