Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
Brilliant book for the classroom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
High quality I recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
The boy loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Catchy tune and rythm; a bit jingly but plenty of variety in rythm section, with changes of key too. Plenty of simple repetition and large font size, which is exactly what I was looking for, for a three-and-a-half year old who is beginning to recognise words. Chance to make animal noises too. Theme is: Walking through the jungle/climbing up a mountain, etc, what do I see, what do I see? I think I see a lion/monkey,etc,and he's chasing after me. And finally: Running home for supper.... Lots of fun, potentially participative, and a happy ending.

BUT... the song moves on much too fast, with no time to think/talk about the answers, and certainly not enough time to look at words. There's not even time for an adult to turn the pages between sections.

Solution 1: Have a pause button ready, but that loses the momentum of the catchy rythms.

Solution 2: Make a copy on a blank CD and use audio-editing software (or get a teenage family member involved!) to extract 6 to 8-second sections of appropriate parts of the separate music track on the original CD, and insert them in your new copy where needed. I did this reasonably successfully. It was easy to observe the key changes but not so easy to maintain the rythm for every page. Having gone that far, I added an introduction in Granny's voice too, for good measure. Have fun!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2005
Please note - the cover art shown here refers to a different book, also titled Walking Through the Jungle, also illustrated by Debbie Harter, but with entirely different content and published by Barefoot Books, not Orchard Books (NY)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 January 2016
Storyline - A story/song about the animals in the jungle. It’s a spy game where they show a small part of the animal and then the whole animal.

Early Years Teachers - This book proved to be an invaluable resource on my teaching placements. This is a great book with a good story line. It is so versatile and can be enjoyed by many ages. It is really easy to engage with as there are so many possible themes in the story which can be explored to a suitable depth dependent on the children's ages. In particular it was great using the CD to move like the animals in the jungle.

Themes: animals, people, the world, plants, sounds, actions, the jungle, differences.

Activity ideas:
- Good for children to recognize animals in the jungle
- Could link to things about diversity – people different skin colours and disability.
- Children could dance to the music/ story on the CD. This could include moving in various ways like the animals.
- Children could act out the jungle in a story.
- Children could get creative and use the book as a stimulus for their creative development, such as creating jungle pictures using various medias.

Would recommend to any early years teacher or parent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Book is very visual but the best thing is the CD. It has a animated video of the story with song being sung and lyrics so you can learn the song. The best thing ( I think) is that its got the animated visuals with the tune without the lyric being sung. Perfect for my Nursery class assembly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I run a reading club, therefore, am always looking for appropriate books for KS1 pupils. Books that are not part of the curriculum, but follow curriculum topics. This one is perfect, as it is repetitive and refers to animals and their habitats. You can also find additional material directly on the Barefoot Book website and there is a beautiful animation of the book on youtube, as well as song to sing. The children always love this one, as we 'act' out the book, after reading it together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Fantastic book my little boy loves it. The song sticks in your head which is the only downside
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Totally cute book. My 2 year old son will sit and read this to himself. It's very rhythmic, so he learns the sound of the words and will repeat them back to us, so I think it's really good for his language development. The DVD that comes with it is great too - the animation and song are both very well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse