Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 July 2014
A really good read, a pity there is no index, so I advise you to write down the names mentioned in this book to research later on.

For a musical movement that seemed to peak and fall between 1955-60, Rockabilly spawned some of the most important performers in musical history, a real significant part of western post ww2 culture, this music excites beyond mere words - listen to the production, the vocals, the guitars, swathed in echo, the dynamics of the sun studio, you get to read all about this in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2017
I am a little too old to be a hipster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2015
Great account of rockabilly, the originals and the revivals. Learnt a lot about songs I'd missed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2015
Really consise history of rockabilly music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2013
After reading other books of the same subject I have found this by far the most knowledgeable yet. It has been well written and have to say it is an excellent in-depth study. I would highly recommend this book. There is also a companion CD on ACE records, what more could you want.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2011
I could really empathise with the authors experience of getting into the Rockabilly scene in the late 70's. It's an authoritative guide to the music from someone who has clearly lived the lifestyle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2011
I was left with mixed reactions after reading this book. It's a straightforward account of a genre of music I enjoy and filled in a lot of gaps. However my worry is this guy has got rockabilly religion, so unless other artists follow his lead, they are condemned. He's very critical of where the Beatles mislead youth but ignores the fact that most fans like me, got to find out about Holley and Perkins through Beatle and Stones album tracks.

Because any new religion has to have figures of hate (Harrison, Clapton) Perkins Rockabilly Sessions TV programme, on which they appeared, has to get ignored, while any UK pub gig by some obscure artist gets treated as a second coming.

He also seems to downplay the britsh revival with people like Edmunds and Stevens only getting passing references, while anything from the USA gets heaped with praise. He also seems to ignore Jerry Lees demented Star Club sessions -because it was the wrong period and backed by a load of scousers?

But despite these reservations it was a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2010
Having listened to a lot of rock and rockabilly music over the years, it was very rewarding to get a 'face' on a lot of the virtually unknown artists. It is amazing how many of the 'unknowns' that Max have managed to find, or at least document. I particulry liked the way he managed to group artists and styles together; this made it a very easy book to read. The only reason for 4 stars is the lack of an index, which makes it hard to find a specific performer. Apart from that that, the book is by far one of the best music books I have read.
And don't forget to get the ACE CD 'soundtrack', it also have some pleasant surprises on it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2010
The Author has managed to put together what must rate as one of the definitive books on the genre. The facts are gleaned from personal experience growing up with the second coming of Rockabilly in the late 1970s and early 80s. He also draws on contemporary reviews and interviews from the year dot onwards. These are woven into humorous as well as informative prose. Of course the well-known and much written about legends of Rockabilly are given a fair nod and their rightful place in the music's history. The real joy was discovering brand new but half-century old soon to be favourite tracks that are these days only a Google and a click away. Especially after laying hidden, at least from these ears, for decades despite been a fan of the genre for most of them. From the early splutterings of moonshine soaked Hillbillys driven even wilder by bop pills to appreciative heads-up towards The Polecats and The Cramps, as the sub-title describes, this is 'The Hipsters Guide To Rockabilly Music' and a more entertaining and informative one you'll be hard-pressed to better. Simon Nott
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)