Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
8
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2014
As a response to Wulf V:

I recently went to a talk by the author, where she specifically mentioned the inconsistency of names. She mixed up the Anglo-Saxon and Norse names on purpose. After all, had the alternate history in the book take place as described, there would be no reason that the names from either culture would have taken precedence.

I think it's a little unfair to judge this book on its subject matter in this way. Surely, if anything, it introduces Wodenism to a new audience? As a Christian, I am not at all offended that she has reduced my beliefs to the museum exhibit of a 'dead cult'. The books is very clearly presenting a thought experiment, rather than attacking any particular religion. Other that the Cult of Celebrity, of course.

The fact that the Gods return to London is a joke. The Norse Rainbow Bridge and the famously wobbly Millennium Bridge, was, according to Simon, 'too good a connection to miss'. She clearly sets Copenhagen as the centre of Wodenism, not London, much as Rome is the centre of Catholicism today.

In short, I approve of any book which makes kids think about The Big Things.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
I bought this kindle edition for my son and he says that "it is a great book and it made me laugh out loud. I am nine years old." This is the sequel to "The Sleeping Army" and we recommend you start with that book first.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 21 October 2013
The sequel to The Sleeping Army, The Lost Gods is even better than its predecessor. Freya is back home in a London just like ours - except that the prevailing religion is Wodenism, which changes all kinds of things from school to religious worship. She wants to be an ordinary schoolgirl, but then Woden, Thor and Freyja turn up on her doorstep. The Frost Giants have awakened and are already creating havoc with the weather here on Midgard. They behave as oafishly as ever, expecting everyone to tremble and obey, and ruining Freya's parents# home...only nobody worships them any more. How can they regain their powers? Why, by winning a version of The X Factor! It should be a simple matter for the Goddess of Love and Beauty, Woden and Thor, shouldn't it? Especially once a PR supremo has got involved.

The jokes are plentiful, but adults will relish reading this as much as children. Freyja's vanity (she's told she needs to lose some weight) is an especially pointed topic, and when she makes the fuller figure fashionable Simon is on top form. I enjoyed seeing our heroine's boring, stuffy mother become a teenager again. The illustrations are good, but the cover a bit too brash in my view.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Having been to Hel and back in The Sleeping Army, Freya was hoping to slip quietly back into her old life. Unfortunately for her, the Norse Gods have other plans for their closest human acquaintance. Woden, Thor and Freyja (assisted/babied once again by Roskva, Alfi and Snot the Berserk) have arrived in Midgard (or Earth as it is more popularly known) in a desperate state and they need Freya's help in securing a great quantity and quality of worshippers. Much to the chagrin of the Gods, belief in them has been waning steadying over the years so that they are now severely lacking genuine worshippers and thus their powers are greatly depleted. If the Gods aren't able to regain their powers then they will be no match for the rampaging army of Frost Giants that is threatening Asgard, Midgard and the rest of the universe.

The Lost Gods is an excellent follow-up to The Sleeping Army; it's very different from Francesca Simon's Horrid Henry books (and so perhaps better suited to slightly older children/more confident readers) but still manages to be very funny. Freya is a great though reluctant heroine and manages to be commendably patient in the face of deadly danger and grumpy Gods. There's plenty of excitement as well as laughs involved in the Gods' attempts to secure worshippers and in Freya's attempts to keep them out of trouble in the modern world. The banter between Woden, Thor and Freyja is very amusing despite the fact that they all manage to be supremely irritating at times throughout the book. The Lost Gods is a thrilling, funny story and (similarly to Rick Riordan's use of Greek, Roman and Egyptian mythology) Francesca Simon makes great, entertaining use of Norse mythology.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Read this... it`s amazing!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
The idea behind this book is really good ... but the execution of the idea falls very short. The book is billed as "A rollicking, thrilling and hilarious ride" - one third of the way through the book and all that has happened is the "gods" have turned up and had some pizza for tea. At most this is an amusing attempt at satire. I would have awarded 2 stars, but there are far worse books out there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
I found the book very confusing and did not recomend it! Thought it was going to be good because frances simon wote horried henry and I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
What authors like Francesca Simon fail to understand is that Wodenism is a living and growing religion in England. It is the original and natural religion of the ethnic English people. The Gods of the English are in many[but not all] cases the same deities honoured by the other modern day descendants of the pre-xtian Germanic peoples, whether they be of English, German, Dutch or Scandinavian descent.
Making fun of our deities in a novel dishonours our Gods and causes offense to those of us who follow the ancestral Gods.
I would ask therefore that all potential purchasers of this book take that into account.
On a different note I would recommend that if anyone were to author a book about our Gods to at least be consistent with the names of our deities and not mix Anglo-Saxon and Norse names! I notice from browsing the book via Amazon book search facility that whilst Woden is referred to by his correct English name, Thunor is called by his Norse name Thor. Likewise Tiw is referred to as Tyr.
Lastly I would like to point out that as London is no longer a city inhabited by a majority ethnically English population it would be the last place in England that the Gods would choose to "return" to. They are ANCESTRAL Gods after all! Unlike the middle-eastern god our Gods do not consider themselves to be universal or require the whole world to worship them. They exist in the DNA of their people, their folc.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here