Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 27 May 2012
I'm enjoying these stories as bedtime reads. Not normally an avid reader of short pieces (other than in the papers), it's been a pleasant change.

One of the surprises has been that I enjoyed some chapters more than I expected to: Victoria Hislop's for instance, looked unpromising given that she hadn't gone to the most obvious sources to research "The Island" (her travel piece describes her encounters with a Spinalonga leprosy victim, the subject of her bestseller). Tricky. But it was quite nicely done and she appeared to have built up a genuine relationship with the man, not to mention going to the trouble of learning Greek. So, hats off after all, Victoria.

Others, by contrast, didn't live up to my expectations. It would be churlish to go through those perhaps.

But it's all in aid of Oxfam, innit, so I've thrown in an extra star for that, and I'd say this would be a good present for anyone when you don't know what to get for their birthday. Even if they don't like to travel, there's always the armchair version. And for people who do travel, it's a no-brainer. They will enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
An intriguing, enjoyable and varied collection of articles of real life meetings in many parts of the world. Really enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
You have to go back to the 1980s and Granta's bestselling travel issue to find a book that compares to OxTravels. Introduced by Michael Palin, OxTravels features original stories from twenty-five top travel writers, including Michael Palin, Paul Theroux, Sara Wheeler, William Dalrymple, Patrick Leigh Fermor, Lloyd Jones, Rory Stewart, Jan Morris, Dervla Murphy, Rory MacLean, and others. Each of the stories takes as its theme a meeting - life-changing, affecting, amusing by turn - and together they transport readers into a brilliant, vivid atlas of encounters. This extraordinary collection is published in aid of Oxfam and all royalties from the book will support Oxfam's work.
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
This is an amazing collection of travel stories. I must confess that I don't usually read travel, so it's opened my eyes to some great writers, as well as taking me to places I hadn't expected to go. It's all in here - Africa, the Americas (North and South), Europe, Asia, and even Antarctica! The range of the stories is huge, not just geographically. From Nicholas Shakespear's moving piece on slavery to Sara Wheeler lovely story of a love affair, there's stories here that will make you laugh and others that will break your heart. An absolute joy to read from start to finish. Thoroughly recommended, whether you read on planes, trains, on the beach, or tucked up in bed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
This is a travel book you can gobble up in a couple of sittings or dip in and out of at your leisure. There's an amazing mix of encounters with people from such a range of perspectives and voices. I loved the tale of meeting the miners in Zimbabwe -- a great example of how we can all get caught up in risky situations in a few steps when in a strange place. Palin sums it up perfectly in his foreword: "It ranges right across the world and will hopefully restore your faith in the human race." Well done Oxfam!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
Inspiring book of travel tales by some fantastic writers, it transported me to so many other worlds. Highly recommend to anyone who likes adventure, travel, short stories & Michael Palin of course! A great read for holidays, long plane or train journeys.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 December 2011
Wonderful. Masterpiece. Exemplory. I am running out of superlatives. This was so much better than I was expecting. Not just travel writing but tales about people who are special in amazing places, or who have lead extraordinary lives. Thank you and can we have more please
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
An interesting book to dip into. My copy now reside in the guest bedroom- the stories are just long enough for a bed time read. The last story by Patrick Leigh Femor is my favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
This is an excellent book for travellers or would be travellers or even armchair travellers. It also makes an excellent gift fo a like minded friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Lots of great stories, really enjoyed all of them. This is a great book and introduces you to new writers.
Well worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse