Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
92
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2014
If this was the only magnet book my little boy owned perhaps I'd be a little more impressed with it. However we have a few of these type of books including usborne and peppa pig ones, they were all similarly priced but are much higher quality. These magnets are thin and flimsy. Although there is a decent amount of magnets there is not a good range of vehicles. For example there are 4 diggers, 2 dumper trucks and 2 bulldozers so not great for building vocabulary on the different vehicles found on a building site! Also the yellow and orange diggers are very similar in colour so it is often hard for my 2 year old to tell the difference between the two. As for the lighthouse, well what does that have to do with building sites or diggers?? Entirely pointless. The main purpose of these books is to practise positioning language and skills, so "The red digger is next to the skip" or "The cement mixer is in front of the traffic cones" Although this book contains a few of these directions I don't feel they are clear enough. It is basically not fit for purpose and due to the poor quality the back page is already peeling with minimum usage. Save your money and buy a different brand!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
This is a great book for every little one who loves Diggers, my grandson loves it. You get lots of magnetic Digger & other vehicles magnets. They are a good size for little hands too. The storage compartment keeps all the magnetic digger safe and tidy. I feel this is a very good buy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 September 2015
This book is a great idea, well executed. Essentially a book full of blank scenes, with magnetic diggers that can be stuck to the pages. Each page has some text describing what's happening and it's up to you to put the pieces in the right places. While not a regular book our little one goes to, when read it with him he gets very involved in palcing the vehicles on the page. As well as helping him put things in context - next to the building; near the pile of sand etc he also starts to make up his own little narratives about what he's doing on the page.

I'm worried that the plastic bubble that holds the magnetic pieces is a little fragile and could lead to all the pieces disappearing over time, but so far they've managed to stay together - it just requires a bit of careful stewardship.

Highly recommened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
This is the second copy of this book I have bought as my five year old son LOVES it but lost a couple of the original magnets. Good for those beginning to read, good for listening skills too as they have to place the magnets in certain positions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
After reading several reviews, I was prepared to be disappointed, and this book "met" my expectations. It's not terrible - you get lots of little diggers to add to each page, and yes they are somewhat flimsy but they do the job. It's boring to read to them, that was more my beef. The quality fits the price and my child did like it for a little while and I don't worry about it getting broken because it was cheap, and surprisingly it hasn't been broken yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
A lovely book with bright and colourful illustrations and a good range of magnetic building site shapes. Hours of fun rearranging and making different landscapes with the magnetic shapes. Bought for my three year old nephew who loves it. He spends ages with his Mum or Dad moving the shapes and talking about the pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
It robust, the magnets aren't too flimsy and as he is obsessed with diggers and trucks he will play for hours with this and its small enough to pack into a flight bag or changing bag for out for a meal. Planning on buying more as gifts for children the same age.

My one and only complaint is it is a little fiddly to get the magnets back in the plastic section as they have to be placed in exactly the right way but its a fair trade off to have a book you can easily carry about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
My 2 year old loves diggers more than anything so this was brought to save parent fatigue reading his favourite dig dig book. This has now become a joint favourite, magnets teach colours and enable discussion of what is happening and he loves making the pictures himself. Thoroughly recommend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Bought this intending to give to my son at Christmas but have ended up giving it to a friends little boy for his birthday. Sturdy little book with removable magnets to place on different situations within the book. Gives a book another dimension for young children to get involved in a story before they can read. Have sent off for another for my sons stocking.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2016
I was a bit disappointed as we have a diggers sticker book already and it turns out to be identical in every way. Same pictures, same text, just magnets instead of stickers. Brought for my son but plan to give to someone else now as it's just the same as he already has.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse