Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 23 August 2017
I started the book laughing and ended the book laughing but in between there was a lot of serious thought-provoking stuff. Serious, I mean. Sir Terry is one very missed author. I discovered his work after he died and now I nearly cry at his absence in this world. His work is as good as those authors, if not better, that he sometimes parodies or stealthily references. 'Snuff' is a master example of his work which I just could not put down. Simply wonderful and I hope I get to read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2012
This comment will pretty much apply to all Pratchett an an e-book format although specifically I bought the Kindle edition to read on my HTC Android phone. Basically one of the things I have always enjoyed about Pratchett is the use of footnotes in order to introduce a sense of comic timing and to allow you to enjoy asides and tangents without getting distracted from the main story. Unfortunately because this Kindle edition puts all the footnotes as hyperlinks to the very end of the book you constantly have to bookmark and press the link to get to them and then use the 'goto' function to find your original place. This is quite laborious and ruins the flow of the story as instead of a few seconds to see the comic aside suddenly its more like a minute of faffing. I enjoyed Snuff despite this but suspect it would have been a whole lot better as a paperback or hardback. I've spoken to a friend with a Sony e-reader where for some reason his version of Pratchett put the footnotes into the middle of the main text which is equally annoying.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2017
Another excellent Sam Vimes tale, fuelled by anger, indignation and bacon sandwiches (or so he wishes-too much L & T not enough B) he sets about chasing down wrongdoers. Great fun, good to see more of Vimes & Lady Sybil.
Stephen Briggs is as always perfect for the audio version-thoroughly good read or listen!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2017
Here again is a excellent Discworld novel, with Sam Vines fighting for the rights of the underdog, it's full of humour and a wonderful story line.
One of his best books, happy to recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2015
What more can I say! The Watch and Sam Vimes at his very best. He has been reluctantly made to go on holiday by his wife, the Lady Sybil. What was meant to be a relaxing time turned out to be anything but, as Commander Vimes couldn't help but become involved in a bit of 'policing'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2014
Not up to Terry's usual standard. I found it an effort to get to the end. That said, it has its moments, but more like someone else trying to create a Pritchett book by cutting and pasting from his other books.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2012
i love terry pratchett's books i own all the novels he has written but snuff is the most difficult to read
if i had never read any of his books before i would have given up after the 1st 50 pages it seemed to me the story was going nowhere and lacked any sort of narrative direction in fact it was boring to be honest which is a shame cos pratchett is normally an engaging inventive writer
however having said that once i got over the one hundred page mark i found the story picked up pace and my interest and was gripped right to the end
this book is a hard long slog but worth sticking with
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2017
Another excellent Terry Pratchett book. As always a good parody of a well known story with many insights into the way people and society interact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2017
Brilliant, engaging, funny, wise and absolutely riveting. One of his best, in my opinion., but they're all brilliant. Love it 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2013
Yet another excellent addition to the "Vimes/guards" strand of the discworld series. This one sees Mr and Mrs Vimes head out to the country house they own, for a supposed holiday. As you would expect, with Sam Vimes around not everything goes to plan. Plenty of sleuthing and action, goblin rights issues and a touch of "Midsummer Murders" make this one of TP's best offerings yet in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse