Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
113
3.9 out of 5 stars
The Stars' Tennis Balls
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 February 2015
Stephen fry fan so great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Most will have picked up by now that revenge has a fair part to play in this book; no more spoilers here. But what I found unconvincing, in an otherwise well-crafted and brilliantly delivered tale, was the moral compass Ned is using to lead his train of thought and subsequent action towards the end. If his love for the heroine is in any way, shape or form, a factor (and we are led to believe that it is; she is, after all, the only truly likeable and innocent in the whole affair) then where is the influence of that love on the action? It's not there; at least not sufficient from someone whose intellect and grasp on philosophy is supposedly unrivalled. Portia complains that Ned doesn't understand people; back in 2001, was Fry complaining that sometimes he doesn't either?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
I have enjoyed all of Stephen's works of fiction (Making History, The Liar etc) but would probably say that this one tops the lot. The story is absolutely amazing, and does a lot to illustrate the characters pain, fear and emotions. It is a story of survival, heartache, friendship, jealousy, betrayal and revenge. The twists and turns in the plot are unbelievable and will have you dropping your jaw in shock and surprise. This is an ingeniously well written book and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who truly loves and appreciates fantastic fiction at it's best. This book will stay with me for many years, and has earned itself a permanent place in my heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
Brilliant and funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2000
Stephen Fry was supposed to have cheered up. This is his first not-very-humorous novel but it's an excellent thriller; a mixture of John Webster, John Mortimer and...well...Stephen Fry. The word games are mostly absent but his favourite prospero Donald Trefusis is back in the form of incarcerated genius Babe Fraser; just as fiendishly clever but this time blacker and more bitter. We've met Ned Maddestone before but this time The Liar's Hugo Cartwright transforms into the destructive anti-hero himself before our eyes. It's not Hippopotamus but great stuff all the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2001
The year is 1980 and at the age of 17 Ned Maddstone has everything, good looks, the love of a beautiful girl, a wanted harrovian education, a prosperous and bright future starting with an education and degree in Oxford and the complete love and support of his family in the form of his very proud father. When he meets three lads whose hatred for him is about the only thing they have in common, Ned's life is changed forever.
This is a modern day 'Count of Monte Cristo' written in the form of a brilliantly intensive and psychological saga and definitely rubs its shoulders with masterpieces such as 'Kane and Able'(Jeffrey Archer) and 'First Among Equals'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Read this for my book group. It is reasonably well written but you have to suspend reality as the plot and characters are a bit predictable. Not sure if you can transpose the plot of the Count of Monte Cristo to a modern setting. The finale came as a bit of an anti-climax.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Great item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
I loved this book, after the first few pages I couldn't put it down. I really wanted to know the outcome. I was concerned and cared about Ned but knew he would escape. Loved the revenge he saught. The ending was unexpected but sensible. Stephen Fry rules.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
Oh how I loved this book. So intensely bittersweet. A plan of masterful vengeance which is metered out to the writhing, squirming wretches who so richly deserved such merciless premeditated cruelty. I lapped it up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here