Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 August 2017
Interesting idea but not as good as world war hulk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2015
Nice work of Mark Waid! The artist make a good work too! I recomend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2015
Terrific story and art work
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2017
Probably more a 3.5 than a 4. By no means a masterpiece, but this is a fun reimagining of the Hulk and Banner's relationship both with each other and with the outside world. The vein of dark humour than runs through the scripting is good fun too. By the end of the volume the novelty has waned a little as the actual storyline is a little weak, but the strong dialogue and wit carry it over the line.
In general I like the artwork, though at times the scratchy style is so messy that busy panels and pages get a bit hard to work out what is actually going on. Nice layouts and splash pages though.
At a time when there are very few new approaches left to writing the Hulk, Waid must be applauded for finding one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
I'm pretty sure this is the best hulk comic ever! This is a perfect set up with hulk smashing for shield and banner working with them; for once in his life. Bruce gets his own lab and team on the condition that shield gets to set hulk on its enemies at times. The art works well and it is the best marvel now title out there (others coming close.).
Art: 4.5/5
Story: 5/5
Originality: 5/5
Price:4.5/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2013
The story running through issues #1-5 of the new Indestructible Hulk comic is collected as Indestructible Hulk: Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. It is a fairly straightforward story, as Bruce Banner decides he's had enough of living in a cave while Tony Stark and Reed Richards (but especially Tony Stark) get all the credit for scientific discoveries, so he works out how to `manage' his condition, and offers the Hulk to SHIELD in exchange for a laboratory and staff that will let him get back to beating Tony Stark at his own game. After a try-out against the Mad Thinker, Maria Hill signs Banner on as an agent of SHIELD. The second issue is a team-up of sorts with Iron Man, with no unforeseen consequences at all, at least not unforeseen by Bruce Banner: "You refuse to treat me like an equal, and I've been mad about it for years" "Uh-oh". The third issue involves Banner (in disguise) getting abducted by AIM, and meeting the Quintronic Man (who might be an old foe, from the context of the conversations), and the fourth and fifth issues are a two-part story involving Attuma and the lost land of Lemuria, which contains an artefact that Banner manages to palm at the end of the story, which also might be carried over from an old adventure. There is also a new Hulk-proof lab for Banner hidden in an old nuclear testing ground, along with a group of genius-level lab assistants.

This is a well-written series with very good artwork, and looks as if it will go places. I haven't given it 5 stars simply because it is not actually exceptional, merely excellent.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2014
I read a library copy of the paperback
Mark Waid manages to find an original spin on a Hulk story which seems so obvious it is a surprise it’s not been spun out before.
Banner is fed up being outshone by other Marvel Scientist types and joins SHIELD in order to rebuild his credentials as a brainbox and use them in controlling the Hulk when he does, unavoidably, ‘Hulk-out’.
This new Banner attitude is remarkably engaging and whilst the rivalry with Tony Stark et al is camped up a bit too far this whole series is a breath of fresh air and SO much better than the ridiculous Red-Hulk theme we’ve been saddled with for so long.
Red Hulk diminished the uniqueness of the-one-true-Hulk but Waid returns Hulk to interest and glory.
I don’t know how long this will last and I still don’t quite understand why Hulk wears the armour but this is highly recommended – especially for those who long since gave up on all things Gamma
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2014
I really enjoyed this. Banner's voice is very fun, you can see his anger and jealousy, his loss at what the Hulk cost him but also this graphic novel is unique for Hulk outside of the Avengers in presenting a Banner that is learning to live in the world with his 'condition'.

I would definitely give this a read. The Hulk is still a mindless beast but it would be interesting to see if that will change as the whole tone of this graphic novel is that of change.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2013
I picked this up cheap on a lark having like a lot of Mark Waid’s other works but not being a fan of the hulk outside of billion dollar movie and I normally dislike Lu’s art
So two things against it before I even crack open the book

And this is so good
Lu’s art here he nails it.
Mark Waid makes Banner the star of the show a man who has figured out he can’t cure the hulk maybe he can manage him and a deal he cut’s to do so… from there is a story arc for the ages

I have pre ordered the 2nd trade on the strength of this on.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)