Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Vol.2: Scorpion
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 October 2015
This volume carries on slowly cranking up the drama; as others have said in reviews here, I think that it's probably worth getting vols 1-3 to really take in the origin of Miles as Ultimate Spidey, and this volume builds up his experience and serves as a bridge to his final acceptance by the Ultimates. Here Miles is really young, and in a bind since he is being watched by parents, boarding school staff, his evil uncle, and Nick Fury. Bendis is ramping things up slowly, trying to make Miles a credible hero and to weave him more solidly into the Ultimate world. Pichelli's artwork is as perfect as ever, and I'd rather that she were doing the whole run, but heigh-ho. Sara Pichelli clearly loves pencilling Miles as much as Bendis loves writing him, and every panel is flawless. Maybe I'm getting old but it's nice to read comics where I'm actually interested in a child's story (and I don't mean a "child" as in jaded and malevolent kiddies like Damian Wayne or Kid Loki).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2013
The creation of a new Spider-Man a replacement for Peter Parker produced newspaper headlines and the outpouring of disgruntled 45 year-old teenage bloggers. In fact this was not a replacement for the Peter Parker (that would come later) but a new Spider-Man in Marvel's alternative Ultimate Universe.

Miles Morales is the Peter Parker that Stan Lee and Steve Ditko might have created if the Marvel Universe had been produced in the 2010s instead of the 1960s.

These stories are comics. They are not high art or great literature but they are nicely produced and the ensemble Morales cast have been well designed and written. Miles Morales is a charming Spider-Man and one that is well worth investing the time and money in following. These stories will stand the test of time. It is a proper development for the fifty-year old Spider-Man fanchise
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2012
I dunno about this new Spiderman...

It is early days yet, so I cant be too harsh with my comments/criticisms but I guess Im just not feeling it yet with this new Spiderman. Peter has such an established back-story, born out of tragedy, that motivates him. This new SM just does not seem to have the same resonance (yet?).

The artwork and the story in this book are fine and some effort is made to convey just how overwhelming it must be to become the new SM, especially as a young boy. The Ultimate brand of comics still continues to put interesting twists on characters we know from the main marvel continuity. This Scorpion is nothing like the one we are used to. So kudos to Marvel for trying to shake things up and keep it fresh but I cant shake the feeling that this new kid is somewhat shoehorned into the costume.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2012
if the first book didn't get to full convince you about Miles, the second book will seal deal. Bendis really has crafted a new spider-man from top to bottom, he's really is more then just a black spidy. the book deals with the miles learning the burdens of being a hero such as living too lives, facing super villains and dealing with the police. the book focuses heavy on the importance of family. the cast of characters is bought to life by bendis snappy dialogue.

the only possible problem story wise this is only part one of a bigger story, At end of the book if leaves you wanting more.

the downside is the art work, Both Chris Samnee and Sara Pichelli provide art work. Sara's art is excellent, however, Chris art is not, everything just looks horrible, the lines are to thick and rigid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2012
The comic deals largely with the development of Miles as a character, and how he has to find his place in a post-Spiderman world. It does lack a real conclusion, as it does end on a cliffhanger, and as such doesn't have a big, action-packed ending, but there are action scenes in the middle of the plot.

It's good that the comic aims to develop Miles, as he needs to be made a separate entity from Peter Parker, but still, I was left feeling a little bit in the lurch at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2013
Great fun read with an interesting cast of support characters and a new take on Spider-man. In this volume we get introduced to a cosutmed Prowler, Mile's own unique ultimate villain Scorpion and a deeper insight into Mile's morality.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2012
The new Spiderman is really winning me over after this. A lot of character build up in this volume, not a massive amount of action but it isn't boring. Great art, good story. Cant wait for Vol.3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2015
Continuation of this great new character's origin story, brilliantly told
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2013
My son loved it and he is always reading it. I would buy other comics from this company in the future and most definitely recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse