Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 October 2017
husband pleased but it is in a queue of books to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 December 2013
This is another enthralling volume from Penguin's series on London's Underground lines. Danny Dorling offers up a series of vignettes of local life set in the area immediately surrounding each station on the Central Line (the bright red one from the map), and then compares various aspects of the socio-economic data from the census. This provides a fascinating insight into the manner in which adjacent communities differ, and how life expectancy can vary markedly between two communities that are just a couple of miles apart,.

Dorling looks at a wide range of comparators such as GCSE results, lie expectancy and average income as well as a selection of health-based statistics. My description of this is probably doing the book a dreadful disservice as it probably sounds very dry, but the book is actually completely engrossing. I would welcome the same sort of analysis across some of the other lines, and maybe of the wards and boroughs that the M25 passes through I accept that I am a bit of a geek!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
This book examines how a whole range of “social indicators” – such as life expectancy and GCSE results – vary as you travel along London’s central line.

This is a rail line that runs in an arc from West to East through London. Taken as a (presumably mythical) journey over a single day, the aspects of life that vary along the line – and often between stops are looked at in two ways!

Firstly they are illustrated by dialogues between people who live in the area of the relevant tube station and secondly by brief reference to actual statistics.

I had a small problem with both of these – in the dialogues I did loose track a couple of times (no pun intended!) and felt like I was just ploughing on to find out what was going on.

The issue with the statistics is that the author admits that a few random events can alter the average of some of these values significantly for one year – in other words the stark differences between one place and another could actually be due to chance – but then never seems to tell us what time periods the statistics represent. If the statistics are long-term averages, they probably represent real difference – but the way they are presented leaves this open to question.

Now, I am not some form of stats geek – but I do know my way around a graph and I have to say I found this element of the book disappointing.

Equally, this is not to say that I did not enjoy reading the book – but I just kept having a little nagging question popping up at the back of my mind!

Recommended (just).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 September 2015
The 32 Stops is a small 164 page book by Danny Dorling assessing quality of life indicators along part of the Central Line. It is a book that sits within the Penguin Underground collection of books on each of the Underground lines. Dorling has put together a set of social statistics on things like educational attainment, household income, or bankers for 23 of the areas near stations on the line. Alongside the stats and tables are fictional accounts of household lives.

32 Stops is fairly accessible and tries to make the stats cool. The stats are the best things about the book. The scale ofdifferentiation along the line is noticeable. For those who have spent decades on the Central Line the trajectory of the data largely bears out expectations. Dorling's skill is in presenting nuance of statistics on things like voting patterns to help build an analytical picture of the different communities spread out across the line. It is fascinating stuff and well presented.

However, there are a number of disappointments about 32 Stops. It is clearly written from a leftist populist perspective. Use of the word 'bankers' as code for the rich already feels dated just a couple of years later. The crude terminology does not fit with Dorling's clearly much deeper understanding of social strata which includes people living along the line many times wealthier than a banker. Dorling's analysis is also quite thin. It does not really break down the communities along the line into constituent parts. The profile of who lives where is not really captured in his narrative snapshots. Each station has a story but that story does not particularly tell the tale from the perspective of people who live there. Dorling is not a Londoner. Frankly it shows. The Central Line is a vibrant mix of peoples but there's no real feel for that in any of his stories. Those stories are overly self-referential and clog up the data points Dorling makes much more interestingly.

It doesn't help that Dorling hasn't bothered to include much of the Central Line. Forget it if you live on the Ealing Broadway or Hainault branches. Don't bother if you live east of Woodford. Dorling recognises the cultural boundary in Leytonstone between London and Essex. How much more interesting it would be to keep the story going through Loughton to Epping. The people who live east of Wanstead do not really have their stories told here at all. Let alone what story those who live in North Weald or Ongar might be able to tell after their part of this glorious red line was taken away.

The title is not a great start. The cultural reference to The 39 Steps is so subtle as to be non-existent. It might be funny but 32 Stops is not a number really associated with the Central Line. It is the worst klnd of humour - intellectually smug without being either funny or clever.

To Dorling's credit there is an extensive set of references at the back detailing what was clearly a fascinating set of research to put the work together. The data and anecotal stats are really interesting. The heart of the book and the tale it tells is the analytical story of different and non-equal groups of people living at the various points along the line. The snapshots of life are generally inaccurate caricatures but the underlying numbers are fascinating. Dorling's work is really good when in his voice outlining the implications of the data.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
An easy read when on the underground or train! Danny Dorling takes the statistics, combines them with a bit of mapping but the masterstroke is then telling the stories of several people along the line. The result is a very clear demonstration of the effects of inequality on everyday life. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I have long been a fan of Danny Dorling's maps and it should come as no surprise that someone with such an innovative intelligent way of encouragaing us to look at the whole world can get us thinking about how life chances vary so much in a small area - along the Central line's 32 stops. Danny writes with a compasssion and humour that makes this book a must for anyone who enjoys good writing - treat yourself to a ride on the tube- (the book is cheaper than the single tube fare) and you will be at the end of this compact book before you get to Theydon Bois!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
Having used the tube on every visit to this wonderful city I have always wanted to find out more about the different places along the tracks. The 32 stops provided a a very interesting gate into this. Having seen all the sights, I am ready to turn my attention to th 'real' London. The 32 stops makes an excellent starting point for my Project. As a result I will seek new places and beable to look at them in a completely new way. Erik the Viking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Boring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
A very different way of viewing socially inequality. Here shown by the widening inequality as distance from Central London increases, evidenced by looking at class life at different Tube Stops.
A small but easily read and thought provoking book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Illustrated by the progress of the Central Line from West to East, and with lots of little pen-portraits of the people who live around in each stop. What a good writer Danny Dorling is! Especially for an academic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)