Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 4 September 2014
The first part is an excellent summary of cosmology and quantum physics that's the most readable and informative I've read to date.Or maybe that's an effect of having read too many books in the same genre. Either way the author makes light work of issues other authors struggle with, and each chapter concludes with a helpful brief outline to ease the process.
The second part of the book deals with more esoteric subject matters,which is more challenging for the lay reader and requires more abstract imaginative processing to comprehend.
Overall I found the book is readable and I rarely counted the pages or became over taxed intellectually,which to me, is the sign of an excellent author.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2016
I fascinating tour of Tegmark's physics and mathematics view of the ultimate nature of reality, which touches on some mind blowing concepts, such as: an infinite physical universe, where everything may occur, including infinite versions of yourself separated by unsurmountable distance; and quantum suicide where you may in fact experience immortality (but everyone else sees you die). This book is definitely worth reading through for all these existential challenges. On the downside, these are all thought experiments that are probably impossible to prove as right or wrong (how can you verify if two possibilities both happen, since you can only experience one?) and perhaps the mathematical basis for reality is actually rooted in a socially constructed mathematical basis for understanding reality. Also Tegmark doesn't point us towards any practical outcomes of the theories described, apart from a final chapter on how unique and fragile we may be in the multiverse, and how we need to protect our future from existential threats (with the techie favourite AI enslaving us all as the favourite threat). I'd really like to have read some more predictions about where current experiments around gravity waves and Higgs bosons might lead.

But nonetheless this is the most enjoyable popular science book I have read in some years, and kept me hooked till the last page. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2015
This is a very interesting and thought-provoking book.
I have always thought the Everitt parallel-universe theory mad, and still do. Peter Schor's factorization algorithm
is often regarded as using the results of calculations done in parallel universes; but I remember no such idea in
Schor's paper. Different kinds of mathematics can make the same predictions about quantum theory. Do they
all correspond to reality?
And why should I believe our Max Tegmark when his counterparts in parallel universes are saying the opposite?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2015
Whether you come out thinking Tegmark is right about his Mathematical Universe Hypothesis or not, this is a great book, beautifully argued and takes dissenting views into proper account. Left me doubtful as to the theory being right, given that a mathematical construct presumably has to have some objective reality in some sense or another. But, if maths is all there is, then within what reality does it float? Then again, it's a compelling argument and one can readily accept that at the bottom, only something called maths exists. And around again...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2018
An excellently written and intellectually absorbing book that deserves to be read slowly, carefully and again and again. There is so much in this rich book that even experts in the field could find something new. Although it demands quite a lot of the reader it does not require that you are conversant in the language of mathematics, and should be understandable to the general intelligent reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2017
For those looking to re engage with scientific theories Max's style is very open and easy to fall in to. He's explanations and examples when describing complex issues make it easy for the lay person to understand or begin to understand.

The whole book makes you consider reality and your place in it. For those looking for intellectual stimulation with a moderate understanding of the themes of parallel universes then this book is a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2017
It must be good, it's keeping my husband quiet for days.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2015
Tegmark takes a mathematical approach without being too mathematical. He posits the notion that earth supports conscious life, which is a mathematics aware that it is information emergent from mathematics. Its as if consciousness is an equation with both sides mathematically defined in such a way that exchanges between sides cannot go unnoticed. Whenever information passes from one side of the equation to another, the result is instantaneous self awareness in order for the mathematical structures to reconcile and be in balance. Consciousness is the eternal imbalance of two sides of a set of equations containing 32 fixed parameters, but simply capable of nonlinear adjustment. The sets of equations, Tegmark describes by their various degrees of universality of information. Being permanently in disequilibrium, we have the driving force of consciousness at many levels and subject to many different systems ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2017
Mind blowing book. Some very interesting ideas. Great if you have an interest in understanding how quantum physics fit into the bigger picture. Enjoyable read for an enquiring mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2014
An absolutely fantastic piece of writing. The first 2/3 or so focus on established theories and slightly more controversial theories, including multiverse levels I-IV. The last 1/3 focusses on his new idea for a mathematical universe.

It is not difficult to read and he explains concepts thoroughly. In most places (whilst I don't want to spoil) Tegmark's arguments follow logically and his idea is certainly very, very interesting indeed.

I've enjoyed reading this book more than any other this year and was compelled to share my 5* review - as I so rarely am..!

Enjoy a new angle of looking at cosmology!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse