Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2015
Fun , sign of our times book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2009
Well worth the money, the pictures are printed sharp and the colours are fantastic.

Look out for the gent in the screaming purple suit WOW!. Or the oldish Milanese lady with a coat that matches her hair (in colour & texture) and her skin tones (colour). Bellisimo.

This book will eventually make it into Parr & Badgers The Photo Book VOL 3, there is no higher recommendation.
Why?
As it is a perfect representation of all Human Beings need to express themselves, their personalities their lives etc via their clothing.

Please do buy this before it goes OOP(Out of Print).

To the author well done a life times work recognised.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
I had no idea who the Sartorialist was before I bought this book, however I read about it on the Topshop website and thought I would investigate further.
Instead of a collection of high fashion photos, the Sartorialist explores classic street style which is both inspirational and aspirational. The clothes speak for themselves (although a little more text would have been nice) and should encourage everyone with an interest in fashion to seek their own style and express themselves through clothes, whether high fashion or budget.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Got this as a present after getting engrossed in it at a friend's house... each photo can be 'read' in many ways, many photos of fashion industry related characters, inspirational as they're seen in their 'everyday style'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
Really genius little book of image fashion from the streets - although suspect the prices for 'these little numbers' is eyewatering plus it helps to be in a cosmopolitan backdrop to get away with some, it's still fun and suggests you might up the style with a little imagination. I paid 20 in Waterstones for this... shish!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
It's brilliant. If you like the photos on the blog, this is a great chance to get to pore over them in close up. I guess more commentary might be good but there's a lot of thought provoking shots in here. Lovely.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
The Sartorialist brings together the fashion and photography of Scott Schuman in a book as handsome and elegant as the old Milanese men he so admires. What I love about Schuman's photography is the personality. Undoubtedly, everybody in this book looks great, but no one looks the same. In his photographs he captures not just the beautifully tailored suits, the just-so chinos and the dresses (summer, cocktail and otherwise), but also the greying hair, the coy smile or the nonchalant stare, all the idiosyncrasies that make his subjects so appealing to look at. And look you do - as just like his sartorially exquisite subjects - you can't take you eyes off this book.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2010
For anyone , of any age, Style ought to be of importance, and how you dress is a vital part of being stylish.
It's a fact of life, many people have great ideas about how they want to look, appear to others, but lack the courage initially, to execute the idea.
The Sartorialist, a fabulously illustrated and detailed book, full of exciting photographs of exquisitely clothed men, women, boys and girls, which originally started life as a blog, by a very talented Fashion Photographer in New York, shows what can be achieved.
Lavishly illustrated,the people involved show how beautiful style doesn't always have to be extravagant nor that being well dressed has to be expensive.
This beautifully compact book will excite those that want to dress to feel good, to impress and those that just want to admire the way clothes and accessories can maketh the man ....and woman !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
Being far from a model, but in love with all that's original and aesthetic, it's no surprise that The Sartorialist blog would be something I follow daily. So getting the book... is as much a need as the air I breath.

With Scott's eye for detail, the unconventional and the beautiful, one gets lost in History in the making, he is capturing style that's defined by the individual on the street and not by Big Brands. Get lost in a time that we are living right now!

So it might not be as large a book, as I though, but the size is perfect for the portraits that are neatly packed in this little number.

Let the images inspire your inner style, design or resurrect your desire to be you!
Now what to wear?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
Interesting book and a must have for a bedside table …lovely scenes…glad to have been introduced to this book…recommend for all age groups from, say, fashion conscious 13 year olds to 90 years old and still wanting to find a bit of quirky styling for themselves.
FABULOUS
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)