Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop now



on 27 August 2010
This a lavishly illustrated "coffee table" book showing the history of London from the time of the Romans until sometime last week. The book was written by two of the curators of the Museum of London and its easy to see they know what they're about.

Each epoch is covered by a chapter which starts with the contemporary footprint of London superimposed in a base map common to all the chapters. It is easy to see the growth of Roman "Lundinium", its abandonment for the settlement of Lundenwic just upstream, and the repopulation of the old Roman walled city during the 10th century. Each chapter covers the main industries, the size of the population and their daily lives as well as architecture and surviving examples. I spent about 6 hours methodically poring over the illustrations. It was absolutely enthralling.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2009
One of a number of map based London histories this is the most recent and one of the best. The authors are based at the Museum of London and so its sourcing is reliable, its themes include the historic and the contemporary and like all such map based books it is highly selective. The cost reflects its high production values.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2009
If you are after a definitive, yet easy to read and entertaining book on the history of London this is a must have. I love this book!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2009
I borrowed this book from the public library and liked it so much that I bought it from Amazon. As a history graduate of UCL (many years ago), I warmed to the book's treatment of topics within a framework of broadly-titled historical periods. The Museum of London is great to visit, probably the best place for people interested in the history of London, and I recognised many of the artefacts used to illustrate the text. As the book is closely associated with the museum, I'm sure it's a completely reliable source - fascinating to dip into or read at length.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2014
I bought this book for my French girlfriend. She's always loved London and it's eclectic history, as have I. While this book is rather long and text heavy for a non-native English speaker (despite near fluency), it's accompanied by fantastic old and contemporary images to illustrate points nicely.

It goes from a brief section on pre-history through Roman, Dark Age, Saxon, Viking and Norman London. It then goes onto where London really hits it's stride with the Kings and Queens of the Tudor and Stewart dynasties, followed by the next boom it experienced as the heart of the Empire during Georgian and Victorian rule. Obviously, as the book gets closer to the modern day, it starts to break down into decades rather than centuries, giving valuable insight into the more recent history, such as wars, fashion, as well as things like the modern West End or the classic East End, famous markets and so on.

For anyone with an existing interest in London's history, this is a great book to fill in gaps and see what was going on at certain times throughout it's history. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2010
We bought this as a leaving present for French student who came to work at our company for a few months. We thought it would be a great momento of her time in London and we were right! She absolutely loved it and hopefully it will be treasured for many years to come.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2011
Full of paintings,ilustrations,mapps,and photographs.As a candid reader of novels staging on various age of London, I am very enjoying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2016
Great eye candy but it needs five times the page and word count to actually fulfil its own manifesto.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)