Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
77
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2015
Wonderful book for any organic gardener. Alys Fowler never fails to inspire. I bought this book after reading it from the library last year. Loved it so much I wanted my own copy. It makes the dark nights and mornings of January better to read this and dare to dream of the glorious sowing, planting and harvesting ahead <3
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2010
Absolutely stunning book, loads of useful ideas and tips. I have gardened like this for a number of years but she still managed to provide some new hints and tips. Beautiful photography too
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
I bought this book after borrowing it from the local library and not wanting to give it back. Lots of ideas here to copy. Don't think it is for new gardeners though unless you are just looking for inspiration. Money well spent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
In The Edible Garden, Alys Fowler is trying out a new (to her) system of gardening that's variously called polyculture, edible landscaping, decorative kitchen gardening and ornamental edibles. The idea is to turn a smallish garden into an edible paradise, and the book explains clearly how you might go about that.

Alys covers all the basics about growing from seed, fertilizing, making compost and green manures that you will need to grow edibles without resorting to chemical fertilizers and pesticides. She goes on to have a good look at plants you might like to have in your garden - from common vegetables, herbs and fruits through to perennial vegetables and more unusual specimens you may not have come across, as well as edible flowers. She's clear about what can grow in a container and what is only really viable when planted in the ground.

Then there's a big section on using your harvest, including ideas for preserves and chutneys as well as recipes for meals using the produce from your garden and wild plants you've foraged. She touches on fermentation, motors on through herbal teas and ends up with fruit liqueurs and cocktails, so there really should be something to appeal to everyone.

Detailed, informative and inspiring, Alys has come up with a book that encourages people to get out in the garden and grow something to eat, and is a good effort at describing a way of growing edibles that doesn't follow the normal 'straight row' standard. All in all this is one that any laid back vegetable grower would enjoy having a regular dip into.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
I watched Alys Fowler's TV programme last year but didn't get around to buying the book till only recently...what a great gardening book this is! If asked what this book is about I'd say: sustainable self-sufficiency, permaculture, empowering oneself through the study of one's local environment, some bits of herbal medicine, interesting recipes...and much more!! Lovely, lovely book, I'm reading as I would a novel, it's that well written and flowing...not to talk about the cute drawings made by Fowler's husband...;-)
If you're into growing your own veggies and you're looking for something new and down-to-earth, in tune with what's happening with the world right now, then this book is for you!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
Following watching the TV series, and now reading the book, I now have an edible garden! Lawn & shrubs gone, now have purple sprouting broccoli, cabbages, french/runner & broad beans, peas, tomatoes, leeks, beetroot, radishes & cougettes to name afew nestled amoung rudbeckias, helianthus, lavenders, lupins, cranesbill & herbs! Kids love it and I send them out foraging for bits to add to the evening dinner (keeps them quiet and they really enjoy bringing veggies & herbs for Mum to put into the risotto etc!) Planning fruit bushes to add to this happy colourful mixture to plant in the autumn - possibily red & blackcurrants, gooseberries etc?!! It's great fun, give it a go!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2010
This book is one of those that on a wet day you can curl up and dream of time in your garden.Beautifully set out with practical advice and written by someone with passion in her gardening and a wish to impart knowledge and courage to the novice gardener- definitely to be recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
In fact it's so good that I have bought two extra copies as presents. It's a really easy read, not too technical but with plenty of info to get you inspired. Unlike most other gardeners who produce similar books, Alys Fowler doesn't have acres of land to play with. She has a normal-sized back garden (like most of us have) in which she wants to grow flowers and edibles side by side. So whether you want to dabble with the odd thing or two - or completely maximise the space you have, this book will provide some excellent ideas. The photography is also fantastic and it's printed on lovely paper stock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
What a lovely book, really easy to read and beautifully set out, with lots of photo's and hand drawn pictures (by her husband). She has a lot of knowledge which she shares with a passion and as this is the nearest garden book to the set up I have at home it was a must, it has really helped me plan this years planting. I really wish they would put the television series onto DVD (that was really good aswell) as I would definately add that to my collection. All in all - recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
Having watched the TV Series, I bought the book to help my wife who has taken up gardening over the past year. The book is packed with sensible and practical ideas to help any budding novice. Its both an easy read and a handy reference guide. Clearly the text is good advice and memorable as I often get the quote........No Alys says this! Well worth the investment as the proof is that we now have a garden packed with edible plants. Even a teenage son commented, gardens looking good! The plants are not only the standard lettice, tomatoes etc for summer but also the traditional veg parsnips, cabbage, potatoes etc. So inspired that the package containing seeds for the winter arrived today. The only problem is where to put them?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)