Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2017
Very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
Are you a fan of Russell T Davies scripts? If you are buying this book you'd better get ready to know some things about him you maybe never want to know. There a lot of people who have frantic, wild youth and there are some people who are 'on the other bus' but have you ever wanted to know that Russell T Davies is one of them?

However, even if you have not, you'd also find a lot of intresting facts, thoughts and opinions in this book. Benjamin Cook is wonderful journalist so he asks very good precise questions. And just to make this book better the answers of Russell is so frank! I've never expected such frankness from a man in showbiz. (I mean from script-writer apart from an actor) That makes this book not only long, informative, humorous and sometimes sad (like every story by RTD) interview but also some sort of author biography. Remarkable man telling about his lifestyle and credo - what could be better to read?

And of course this book is full of beautiful pictures and photos. To hold this book in your hands is already a pleasure because the quality of it is very high.

So now I just look forward to issue of Writer's Tale:The Final Chapter where I can read about specials as well. I really want to know about how Russel T Davies have got courage to write perfectly unexpected finale of Water Of Mars!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
Great insight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2009
I got this book for my birthday and I almost couldn't stop reading since then. This is a book I'd love to have given 6 stars out of 5 because it's just brilliant. It's about writing and it's about Doctor Who, two things I simply love and therefore it's just wonderful. It does get a bit long from time to time when there are scripts for pages, scripts of episodes you already know. But then it all sums up, the scripts and the e-mails and the pictures and the drawing and all these things, to one amazing thing. It's just highly entertaining, you never know what comes next - is it a picture or a drawing or a still from an episode ... Love it. Really. Too bad it's over now - even though about 500 pages didn't make it be over too fast ;) I leared quite a bit about (television) writing but also found myself in many things Russel describes in his e-mails, like everyone who has ever written something, will.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Purchased for my daughter who is over the moon . She is really excited to read and appreciate the structuring of his works from various angles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
A great insight into the story behind Dr Who and the stars involved and writing process. Great read, great pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
My son bought this and it is now his 'bible' He had the original version but had to buy the updated version which I wasn't happy about because of the extra expense. But if you only buy this version it is very good value for money. My son makes his own films and says this book gives him inspiration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
At the risk of setting myself up to be shouted down by all the millions of RTD fans out there... I hated this. Doctor Who itself has become very smug and cliquey over the past couple of years, and this book is much the same. There isn't a shred of modesty here, which becomes very wearing after a while - how many times can RTD say how fantastic, marvellous and wonderful he, the show and its stars are in the space of just a few hundred pages? And Benjamin Cook just comes across as a naive young boy so desperate to be part of his favourite TV show that he hangs adoringly off every word his mentor utters. What's more, I'm sure Russell Tovey must be cringing at the constant lecherous references to his backside. Not what the show's young fans should be reading, is it?
66 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2009
Read Robert McKee and you'll see what proper endings are and how RTD can't design them.

Watch BSG and B5
88 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse