Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 4 July 2016
Once again this book is great for doctor who fans both new and old is it delves into the world of the doctor and Martha on another epic journey through time and space. I would highly recommend this book either as a gift or for oneself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2017
Beautifully narrated. A cracking story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2012
This Doctor Who book was OK but not as interesting as the previous one my daughter read - Wishing Well. She is still working on reading this one but only reads a few pages at a time, where the last one she read the whole book in a few days. If the last one was 5 stars, I'd have to say this is two or three on her scale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2014
You can't really go wrong with the Dr Who audio books. The stories are always interesting and this one in particular had some funny moments with the Dodo adopted by Martha. Definitely recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2013
Bought this for my son, who is an avid Dr Who fan, great story, great for long journeys in the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2014
I've never read any of these new adventures and so, seeing this in my local library, thought I would give one a go. I must say I really enjoyed this! Reading it, I could hear the voices of the Doctor and Martha in my head and the author caught their characteristics and mannerisms down to a tee! The story is great too- telling the story of a museum where all the last members of every extinct species are kept.
A highlight for me was when the curator mentions the fact that the Daleks have been on the verge of extinction more times than she can count! It is little touches like this that true Whovians will enjoy and that make reading this a sheer delight!
Hopefully now I can discover more of these books but this one was fantastic....and you know what? So was I!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 June 2009
An original novel featuring the tenth doctor who and his companion martha jones. As with all of these it tells a story not seen on tv, runs for roughly 243 pages, and can be read by those of all ages. the characterisation of the two main characters is spot on, especially considering this one was writtn before martha was seen on tv.

the story involves the two of them finding a museum that preserves extinct species, and dealing with thefts from it. that lead to a whole lot more.

a slight format breaker in that portions of each chapter are narrated by martha in the first person. this is an approach you quickly get used to. same goes for the prologue which is from the point of view of a dodo. each chapter also ends with a descrption of an extinct species. these are pretty informative.

this is a book that sets out to educate as well as entertain, and it deals with the moral issues surrounding extinction and whether animals should be in zoos or allowed to roam free. in a nice moment the doctor acknowledges there's social commentary around. It's never terribly preachy, though, and it does offer food for thought.

plot wise though this does take a while to get going, and the first one hundred pages are very episodic. it's difficult to see where things are going. but the second half of the book does a great job of tying all this together, along with some genuinely original concepts.

a very good enty in the range. if the first half was as strong as the second it would be a five star review
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2013
After a trip to the zoo, the Doctor and Martha go in search of a real live dodo, and are transported by the TARDIS to the mysterious Museum of the Last Ones. There, in the Earth section, they discover every extinct creature up to the present day - billions of them, from the tiniest insect to the biggest dinosaur, all still alive and in suspended animation.

Preservation is the Museum's only job - collecting the last of every endangered species from all over the universe. And for millennia the Museum has been trying to trace one elusive specimen: the last of the Time Lords...

Featuring the Tenth Doctor and Martha as played by David Tennant and Freema Agyeman in the acclaimed Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2011
This Doctor and Martha book introduces Martha in book form quite well, of course there were probably others before this one, but it's the first one I have bought.

The Last Dodo: The Doctor and Martha go in search of a real live dodo, and are transported by the TARDIS to the mysterious Museum of the Last Ones. There, in the Earth section, they discover every extinct creature up to the present day, all still alive and in suspended animation.

Preservation is the museum's only job - collecting the last of every endangered species from all over the universe. But exhibits are going missing...

Can the Doctor solve the mystery before the museum's curator adds the last of the Time Lords to her collection?

This book is a fantastic Martha Jones story and sometimes speakes in first person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2007
I was very dissapointed with Jac Rayners first two efforts for the ninth and tenth doctor range of books, and wasnt expecting much of The Last Dodo. But I have to say this story is definitely miles better than those two put together.

So the Doctor and Martha go in search of the living dodo but end up in the museum of the last ones. A good and cool imaginative setting. This story has a moral tone to it. The horrible stuff involved with animals and fashion and money making. This story is highly enjoyable, with good twists and turns. All the characters are pretty good and memorable too. Making this story one of the most accomplished of all the stories in this range.

So im glad that i can say that Jac aint so bad at writing after all. I hope she does more stories like this one in the future...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse