Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2012
I had hoped that this book would have provided more background on Roman life, the sort of things that Davis uses to give context to her books. Unfortunatley the book consists largely of quotes from the Falco series. This is a cheap option and does nothing help readers gain a better understanding of Roman life. For me (and this is a very personal opinion) this was a very big disappointment.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
A very informative book, about the historical background and about the novels themselves, written with Lindsey Davis' characteristic lightness of touch. It also enables me to get to know a well-loved and much-admired author better. I will certainly recommend it to friends who are interested in the period and who enjoy the Falco novels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
I have found this rather a heavy read, having finished the whole series, but will dip into it from time to time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
as a Lindsey Davis fan since 1989 this was missing from my collection - i have enjoyed it immensely. great service, book as described.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
A significant milestone for Falco's fans, this is not necessary in the strictest sense, but a very welcome exposition of the hows and whys of this most popular of series.
As one would expect from Lindsey Davis it is lucid, amusing and well written, with plenty of background information and pictures. It does not have the feeling (common in such works) that the author is just looking for one last squeeze of the fruit, having run out of ideas. I am glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
I have long awaited both this and also the latest Falco. The latter was an abounding delight but this volume was a great disappointment. Not that it isn't very informative, but the presentation reminded me of wartime economy style and the reproduction of photographs was particularly poor. Maybe I was looking for a Dorling-Kindersley illuminated version, which might have been a bit over the top for this subject, but I do think that the publishers could have tried a bit harder.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
I have been a fan of Lindsey's books for quite a number of years now,and the background details to each of the Falco books and also some personal anecdotes from Lindsey,on each book is fascinating.

I heartily recommend this book and hope that Falco himself - post Nemesis - will appear in another book or two in the near future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
This is an excellent book for all fans of Lindsey Davis and Falco, written in Ms Davis's inimitable style with more than a hint of 'tongue-in-the-cheek'. The publishers have also produced a book which is good to look at, and should be congratulated.

Derek Bolger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
An enjoyable read in itself, the background information on the series, including the inspration and the research, give an insight into Lindsey Davis's passions. I do think both she and Falco deserve and truly glossy edition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Far more content than its title suggests. Apart from excellent background information on the series of books it contains interesting details of the Author's life. Lindsey's humour is very apparent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse