Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
81
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2009
I'm not normally a great autobiography reader but certain people I will make the time for and Peter Kay is one of them, simply because not only is he funny but he also comes across as genuine and down to earth. I think with Peter, you don't just get a story about his life - you get his comic genius written down on paper. The opening line about trainee ballerinas queing outside Greggs Bakers sums up real life perfectly and hooks you in from the start, just like his first book. Any foreign readers (Americans in particular) would be baffled as to why trained gymnists are woofing down pies but in Britainthat's the way we roll.
Just like his first book, there are loads of laugh out loud moments too. I don't really laugh at books like I've heard some people do but because I can hear him saying it, it becomes priceless. Like reading a script book for a show once you've seen it.
Normally I'm a bit dubious about people who release a second autobiography but in this case, it's welcomed and I even hope they'll be a third offering although it's about time we saw him back on the telly or doing a Live show again. Phoenix Nights 3...?
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another enjoyable read with some excellent anecdotes that give you a good feel for what it is like to be a Stand-up. The key is stage presence and delivery, which Peter Kay has in abundance. Loved some of the stories about corporate gigs and the Edinburgh Festival and how PK's path crossed with a number of other famous names on the way (Graham Norton, Johnny Vegas, Steve Coogan, Jason Manford....). It would also seem that life on the road with Paddy in tow was surely never dull. Could see the inspiration for Phoenix Nights with some of the more desperate acts out there, the Meat Loaf tribute and the dire angry impressionist really made me laugh. Also did not realise the spat with Liam Gallagher began way before the Brits. Will definitely bring a smile to any reader's face although overall does not flow as well in comparison to `The Sound Of Laughter'.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
I was excited at the release of this book as I really enjoyed the first one "The Sound of Laughter", and it didn't disappoint! :) Thouroughly amusing, just like the man himself! You can almost hear him saying the things for real! The exerpts from his shows are great as they bring back great parts of the stand up dvds! If you like Peter Kay, then this book is a must :)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
This isn't a bad book; it's just not a particularly good one. It's certainly not a patch on `The Sound of Laughter'. A few chuckles are to be found in it but certainly no laugh out loud moments. His previous book had some great tales of his childhood, but this is (at times) a rather tedious account of his stand-up career. The re-printing of some sections of his older stand up routines only adds to the since of disappointment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
I started reading this book and read it none stop for about two days and throughly enjoyed every second of it. It has so many laugh out loud moments that at some points i emabarrassed myself with a total outburst of laughter with tears streaming down my face.
BUY BUY BUY honestly you wont regret it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 January 2012
Got this for Christmas and it's fantasticly funny and an insight into the life of Peter Kay. It shows not just how hard working and honest he is but how generous too. He is a lovely man who loves his family and has a good sense of humour. This book is well worth getting. I always feel they should have him on Night at the Apollo instead of some of the rubbish they have on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
This follow up book by Peter Kay details the beginnings of his stand up career with anecdotes about gigs, compering and working as a warm up man for various t.v. shows. Although I did laugh at many amusing stories, like some other reviewers have noted, the book is filled with whole sections of scripted gags from his stand up routines, very familiar to anyone who's seen his DVDs (and if you're reading his book, then you probably have). It seems quite audacious to not even include original jokes, just a rehash of familiar material. As you read on you think "Oh, here's the one about Rola Cola...here's the one about taxi drivers..." It's hard to tell whether Peter has such a big ego that he thinks readers want nothing more than to hear the same thing over and over again or whether he just believes in sharing memories again of classic funnies. There is so much goodwill towards him that he just about gets away with it, but most of the book is him talking about how great his gigs went followed by a section of routine you've already heard in one of his DVDs.
It seems the motivation behind this book is purely financial, as the first one was such a big seller, so he's just cut and pasted it together as quickly as possible.
I'm actually a big fan of Peter's but I find it quite lazy to just dine out on the same gags for decades. Surely a true comedian would be able to keep dishing up the funnies without running out of ideas? Garlic Bread??!! Etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
I loved the first book because it brought back so many of my own memories at school, life in the 70s and 80s etc. I have all the DVDs and love them, and don't get me wrong I really like the second installment but as I already know the stand up bits, I feel a bit hard done by!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 December 2009
This is the next instalment of Peter Kay's journey to the top and his mum's desire for a bungalow. However if you think you are getting an autobiography about a lad who grew up in the north, and how he was treated at school, what happened at home (apart from the Rola Cola incidents) and how he met and fell in love with his wife then you will be disappointed. In fact it comes across as Peter Kay(PK) being a very private man and it is a given that he has a mum and dad, his sister R Julie and his wife Susan (girlfriend in the book), Peter is not interested in telling you about this, he is interested though in telling you about comedy.

PK describes his journey from winning a local competition to being a compeer, doing charity work, the Edinburgh festival, warm up man for Parkinson all the way through to the end of the `Bungalow Tour'. There are snippets of shows, and if you have seen some or all of his DVDs then they will be familiar to you, but that does not matter. It is the narrative around all this excerpts which makes the book laugh out loud funny, and I did quite a lot.

Like PK the books, goes off on tangents, about his friendship with Eric Clapton (who would have known) as well as him running a bath, his love for all things music and his playlist on his IPod, and events which tell you when this book was written, like the death of Michael Jackson and the subsequent speed in which text jokes suddenly appear. (Who makes them up?) This all adds to the book, life is not structured and how many times have you found yourself talking about something, and then digressing because another memory has been triggered. Yes see we are all the same, and that is what makes PK so funny, all he is doing his observing everyone and the ordinary and making it funny.

PK examines a lot of what goes on to make comedy work, where his inspiration and material comes from but also reveals a few secrets along the way (well not really secrets, just shattering illusions I suppose) about what happens behind the scenes whilst we are all out the front waiting to be entertained.

Not much more to say for this book, if you like PK, have read The Sound of Laughter or even if you want to know the behind the scenes of comedy then this is the book for you. Once you have read it, make sure you give your mum three rings to let her know. (Sorry could not resist!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
This and Peter's first book "the sound of laughter" are the funniest books i have read so far, what a funny man! a must read if like me you love watching his stand up, i was physically crying with laughter reading this book - amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)