Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
Glimpses of Eternity: An investigation into shared death experiences
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 April 2011
"Glimpses of eternity" is Dr. Raymond Moody's latest book. In it, Moody describes a paranormal or supernatural phenomenon which he calls Shared-Death Experience. It's essentially a Near-Death Experience shared by more than one person.

According to Moody, the people standing around the deathbed of a loved one sometimes have the same near-death experience as the dying person. They even participate in the "life review" of the departed person. Sometimes, information about the dead person not previously known to the relatives is disclosed and later found to be accurate.

Moody clearly believes in the reality of these experiences. Indeed, he considers them to be the smoking gun evidence for the immortality of the soul. If more than one person experiences the same supernatural event, what other evidence do we want?

Of course, sceptics will frown and use their usual arguments: "it's all anecdotal evidence", "it could be folie á deux", "it can't be replicated in a laboratory".

Perhaps.

And then, perhaps not.

Personally, I don't claim to know whether humans have an immortal soul and where it goes after death, if we really have one. However, I respect Moody for being a fearless seeker, who boldly go where the "anecdotal evidence" seem to be pointing.

"Glimpses of eternity" might be the most sensational book yet by Dr. Raymond Moody. Purely anecdotal evidence? Or the truth at last? Read it and make up your own mind.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2014
An excellent guide to help give some meaning to the mystery of death,a valuable guide to love and eternity.
As a recently widowed man this book helped me to retain some form of sanity to give explanations to some of the weird, strange and wonderful things that happened to me after my beautiful wife's passing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2014
As in court cases, a lone witness's testimony has to be trusted to a large degree.
Cynical people do sloppy research and have then smeared Dr Moody's reputation
with their assumptions.
Near Death Experiencers are on a par with inspired inventors, musicians and artists.
Normal reasoning based on physical evidence alone will gradually lead you away from truth.
An honest scientist will carefully research newly discovered truth even when it breaks the mould of his old notions.
Many predjudiced know-it-all 'scientists' have, on first hearing, immediately mocked new ideas.
Eventually the sheer volume of evidence or wealth of testimony begins to open their minds and cause them to doubt their old paradigms.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2014
This is a fascinating follow up to Raymond Moody's 'Life After Life', published in 1975. He was a pioneer in collecting evidence, some very convincing, that the spirit goes on after death. This book tackles the interesting phenomena of 'shared death experiences', when relatives, or medical staff, from all over the world, witness similar unexplainable events at the moment of death, sometimes travelling with the departing soul for some of the way.
Raymond Moody is an intelligent, energetic seeker of truth, who confesses that it took an awful lot of evidence before his scepticism turned to belief. Catch him on Youtube and read this book and the original one with an open mind.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2015
Definitely worth a read if you are interested in the Afterlife and an excellent follow-up to "Life After Life", although, in my opinion, it doesn't really matter in which order you read them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2015
Read half of it. Just essentially a long string of anecdotes. I should hasten to add that, unlike "skeptics", I don't disparage anecdotes. These are interesting anecdotes. But what is required is an analysis as to what it all means.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2014
I have nearly finished reading it and must say I do enjoy the multitude of NDE`s . Quite a number of them in there . If read in conjunction with the New Testament the spiritual feel shines through better .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2017
A good book well written.
Quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2013
Having had glimpses of who we really are, this is a truly beautiful book that I would really recommend !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2015
good transaction....good price....prompt. No problem Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse