Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2010
This little book is an excellent and handy reference for the post-Washington Treaty classes of British battleship. A very good pictorial and textual summary of the Nelson, KGV and Vanguard classes, which even finds a place for the abandoned Lion class.

Very nice collection of photos and high quality artwork together with concise descriptions of the history, service and modifications of each ship throughout its service.

Highly recommended as a quick reference guide, and very readable. For the low price as well, it has to rate 5 stars. And contrary to the solitary (and thoroughly undeserved) 1-star review, the accuracy of this book is first class and obviously meticulously researched. Top marks to Mr Konstam!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
These books have their critics as not being totally comprehensive but what I like is the overview nature of the text, I mean just how much information abut all British Battleships can you get into a small book?

They are a great place to start if your recently new to the interest of Naval history and the big guns of History. Plenty of pictures and cross section images of King George V ships and art work specific to these books.

Well worth a look and take it as an aid to getting interested rather than a definitive guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
good basic overview of british battleships in ww2. the Rodney and nelson and king George v class of ship. used to work with blokes who served on these ships. I don't think life was that pleasant. how they stuck at it I will never know. certainly a different generation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
well I read it all in less than an hour but this little book is a real gem. It gives a concise overview of the 2 classes of battleship and adds sufficient info regarding the context in which they were created and employed to make it all easily understood. Additionally there is info on the designs that didn't get built (e.g.HMS Lion), and on the development of HMS Vanguard, but these are the 'cream on the top' of the main descriptions/service histories of The KGV & Nelson ships. There are I think 1 or 2 errors such as Vanguard's Royal Tour to SA in 1947, incorrectly noted as 1957 otherwise the 5 stars would be awarded. Certainly not an in depth study of the ships but enough to get a general overview which suited my needs. I purchased this volume on its own as I wasn't sure if it had enough 'meat' .. but on the strength of my experience I have just purchased the Vol 1 British Battleships and British Aircraft Carriers from the same author... so I highly recommend !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2010
How anyone can rate this book at one star is beyond me, as it is excellent value for money, and the supposed factual inaccuracies seem to have arisen from a misreading of the text.

Only quibbles :- Page 7. This is KGV in very late 1940 or very early 1941 rather than June 1941. The photo. is one of a series, some of which actually show the original, WW1 inspired, two-tone dazzle camouflage which KGV carried upon completion being replaced by overall medium grey. The clincher is the absence of the type 271 lantern which was installed between the forward high angle directors early in 1941 (i.e., before the Bismarck action). This means that the illustration on Page 21 is inaccurate, as KGV was in overall medium grey in May 1941. Finally, the photo. of Rodney on page 9 is pre-war, and certainly not 1941.

Sorry for being a bit of a pedant; the bottom line is I would certainly recommend this book to anyone, and the above only detracted slightly from my enjoyment of it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2016
A well written and excellent book to read through given a good insight into the construction,operations and service of these ships.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
As with the previous New Vanguard book dealing with The Queen Elizabeth and Royal Sovereign classes, this is a first rate general account of the Nelson and KGV class of Battleships. Details of their building and subsequent wartime service are very well covered. Excellent value for money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Good book great illustrations with a lot of flacks even though it's not the thickest book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2016
Great book with loads of pictures and lots of relevant information and very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
I strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in this fascinating period for the Royal Navy. The author packs in a surprising amount of detail and information that makes this an invaluable reference work. A great read.

NS
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse