Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 17 February 2013
I have been veggie for 20 years and this lovely little book was just the inspiration I needed to try new ingredients and create some quick new recipes without the meat substitutes. There is a wide range of meal ideas: soups, dips, snacks, salads, mains, desserts, and drinks. The simpler ones include 'baby leeks with sage and chilli bread crumbs' and 'Grilled portobello mushrooms with lemon and olive oil' which I think just gives you a nudge in being a little more inventive in cooking vegetables. Other yummy recipes include paella, smokey hotpot of great northern beans, grilled vegetable and almond couscous with herb dressing, quick potato and vegetable curry, cherry and hazlenut cookies. A photogragh accompanies each one and I appreciate the little intros describing where in the world it originates. I also like the hints and tips, and variations offered (e.g if you can't get hold of certain ingredients).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2015
Nicely presented and illustrated. Lots of soaking involved so whilst easy (and some not so easy) recipes, time consuming. Nothing wrong with canned beans and other pulses these days and involves no cooking at home saving energy, which is partly what being vegan is about, having a social conscience. I have tried several recipes in this book and I can honestly say if you follow them to the letter, and they are not complicated, you will get seriously delicious food on your plate. Also no flim flam about meat or cheese substitutes. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2014
This book gives you clear easy-to-read recipes for the vegans in your life.
The ingredients used are easily found in store or store cupboard.
Vegan dishes are usually healthy and when you use these recipes it becomes obvious that
a) vegans are not freaky eaters
b) these meals are really tasty!
Much too good to serve only to vegans! Treat the whole family!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2013
Im not a fan of vegan cookery or food, but had a guest, my sons girlfriend coming to stay. Ive only made one of the soups from it, but was surprised how delicious it was...having found the necessary ingredients and slaved over the hot stove etc. I have since found quite a few other vegan recepies online...and, for the occasional use would prefer to find recepies this way. However the book will still be around when she visits again
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2016
Amazing selection of recipes, bought several books with good ratings, some much more "fancy" and bigger but have yet to use any recipes from them and have used almost every recipe in this one. More than once! Very easy and simple ingredients you're actually likely to have in your cupboard!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2017
So so.not as many basic ideas for a non cooker as hoped lots of fad ingredients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2017
The price was really good, but I got an earlier edition. There’s nothing wrong with that, but the sellers’ picture isn’t showing what he’s really selling.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2016
Perfect book for beginners like me. It's really helped me understand the ingredients in an easy to read and create format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2017
Contents of the book wonderful, full of everyday recipes. The book itself was in very, very good condition. All in all a good purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2013
When I went vegan in the 80's, it was boring, difficult & strange food. I lasted 6 months. Now things are so different. We love this book, my husband does the evening cooking & is working his way through the main courses, and each one so far has excelled. The recipes do take a little time, so he cooks enough for two nights which works well. I also like that it is British, as most vegan books are from the US & use ingredients one can't get. We highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)