Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

1.9 out of 5 stars
8
1.9 out of 5 stars


on 28 October 2014
Many reviewers seem to have nothing but contempt for Gordon Brown, and have nothing but negative appraisals of his speeches before picking up this book - but still do little to justify why it isn't worth reading as a book (people read Mein Kampf for educational purposes without thinking Hitler was a great guy... not meaning to compare Brown to Adolf though). When people say "considering he ruined the country" in a review of a book, you know the review isn't of the book (not to say that it isn't a slow read though without much explanation of context). If you are aware of who Gordon Brown is and are aware that speeches are not written for an audience of readers (speech and writing are different), then you should find this interesting. It's great that speeches like this are available to read and analyse, as they are quite important parts of history (you can read them and make up your mind without having all analysis and thought done for you by an exciting pop-analyst that many seem to hanker for).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2010
For my sins I decided to look at a copy of this that a friend of mine, a politics junkie, has got. After reading it I won't be buying it.

Where do I begin? I found it dull and intellectually sloppy. He may have a Ph. D. in history, but he's not an illuminating writer like Toynbee or A. J. P. Taylor. You look in vain for memorable insights: instead there's a repetition of the same, rather ill-defined, set of ideas. It's as though he wants to win the argument by bludgeoning you into submission. The whole thing seems to be borrowed (at least in spirit) from the Obama election campaign: even the title harks back to Obama's "change you can believe in". How, anyway, does the man who is a workaholic Prime Minister find time to write these books? Don't even get me started on the psychology of a man who would write this sort of guff as a form of relaxation. Please, Mr. Brown, spend more time with your family and less time with the felt tip pen.

I'm not doubting that he really does want to make lives better, but reading it I had the image of a man who is trapped in a monomaniacal fantasy; someone who dares not admit to himself that the world does not match his analysis of it. Since reality has got it wrong, it has to be changed. It's a shame that this is really all his life is about: that's unhealthy and, in the end, tragic.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
This is the worst collection of drivel I have ever read. It is a clear indication of a man who has done so much damage to UK democracy. Where is his speech in which he used the BNP slogan 'British Jobs for British Workers'? Answer: conveniently removed.
To call it 'The Change We Choose' is an absolute farce, Brown has consistently shown he is only prepared to adopt change when the the public are up in arms and about to knock down the gates to Downing Street. He has presided over the breakdown of our economy, our politics, our society and here is a collection of lies and deceit that carefully puts the blame in other people's corners.
11 Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
This book is truly awful. When you look back at the damage this man has done to the UK, and read these speeches, it is hard not to have nightmares about what another fives years would bring.
33 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
Brown can all but dream as an unelected PM he has held the UK in a state of electioneering since he "bottled it".
This collection of dull laboured and uninspirational speeches will find its fitting place during the press coverage when Brown is eventualy removed from Number 10.
Small man, Small dreams, Small speeches. I dont think future Political Studies students will find huge value in this collection
22 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2010
In rural Columbia there are poor, old women who go out collecting discarded crisp packets from the side of the highway. They take the crisp packets back to their shacks and fashion womens handbags out of them. These handbags are then sold in the developed world in a noble effort to alleviate poverty.

Why couldnt Gordon Brown do that instead of publishing this ridiculous book?
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
The original version of this book was found under a desk at a school near me. The transcript, heavily pencilled in red with yellow and green crayon has certainly stood the test of time. The fact that it survived the second week of class was due to the fact that it was half-term. There are no photographs just long and arduous phrases and paragraphs. There's no punctuation so reading is made extra difficult. The figures provided must have been made up because there was no obvious meaning to most of them.

In all, a hard read. The Change I would choose? Throw the book away and remove the man responsible from his chair and put him in the corner with a dunce's cap on, for a week or maybe forever .... yes, that is the better idea, forever!

Please note that the book has been given one star because you cannot get any lower.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
I thoroughly recommend this. The man is a genius. His speeches definitively illustrate his commitment to and adoration of the British people.
44 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here