Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2009
Simon Shaw is one of my favourite rugby players of all time. He's an absolute legend and this book does him justice. Some of his stories about the teams he's played in the tours he's been on are hilarious, taking you right into the mix of the banter between the players. Also, the insights he gives into the game are intelligent and interesting. In the book, Shaw comes over as a top bloke who loves rugby and has enjoyed his career, having a lot of laughs along the way. He's obviously passionate about Wasps and England and the chapter on the Lions tour to South Africa this year is amazing. One of the best sport autobiographies I've ever read and a great rugby book which fans of the game will love. And Shawsy, none of us will ever forget what you did for the Lions this year. Legend.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
I read all the England rugby biographies I can and this was a great read. It is not a long book and I finished it in less than two days but it had all the ingredients I enjoy in a book - honesty, humour, humilty and a good story, in this case of a great rugby man's struggle to gain the recognition most of us knew he richly deserved. What it missed out on, thankfully, is the tedious blow by blow descriptions of individual games which bore me senseless and the all too common slagging off of other players, coaches and officials. Instead he tells us about the human apsects of the game and his life, warts and all, which is where the interest is really generated. His contribution to English and British rugby is immense and his story is well worth reading, although he does go a bit too deep for comfort with some of his revelations!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
This is a great book. Not too long focusing on every minute detail of his career but honest, open and very frank on a great many issues. Funny anecdotes and interesting perspectives mean that before you know it you have finished the book. Shaw doesn't seem to get too bogged down on over analysing and just seems to say it as he sees which is very refreshing. Such a shame that earlier on in his career post the 1997 Lions tour various injuries robbed him of the opportunity to cement his international position. So glad that he finally got what he deserved after all the years of hard graph in the Premiership. He never insults but makes his feelings pretty clear and there is no better example of this than the way he repeatedly comments on Woodward. Very illuminating.

This is a must read for any rugby fan not just a Wasps or England fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2009
...clearly not his real uncle but the Irish playwright would have appreciated the humour and honesty that runs through the book. Shaw loves his rugby and he has played at the highest level as the amateur game was left but not forgotten. The relatively brief synopsis of a career threatening ankle injury (others would have written a book on the subject) is eclipsed by the farcical way the medics treated the big man ending in a truly comical moment with a nurse.
What really comes across in the book is the joy the game of rugby brings, the friends you meet on the way and the woeful selection policy of certain cowardly, paranoid and narrow-minded selectors.

Steven Jones was quite right; 10/10
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
if you want to read a proper book about rugby, all sport, sweat and beers. Read this. A great book from the harsh dark engine room of mighty London Wasps, England & The Lions. I watched Simon hanging off the back of the open top buses in the World Cup parade. It's the best of the three written by 2003s great Wasps, sorry Josh, sorry Mr Dallaglio.

I'm only going to say nice things about Mr Shaws book. I saw him on Wasps training field as his biceps are bigger than my thighs, thank goodness I never had to try to take the ball off him. GREAT BOOK, Cheers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
A book about a player who obviously likes himself.
I found the contents interesting but would have enjoyed a little more detail about methods and tactics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
what a player, what a man, one of the most under rated players ever, however, the world saw his class and aura in the lions tour, indeed, the boks were in awe, Bokkies Botha who...? for nayone who follows rugby Simon Shaw will always be a legend, criminally overlooked by Woodward and his useless puppet Robinson
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
The book arrived on time when promised, but the quality of the used book was not as good as was described, this has happened twice to me. "Very good" really means average so beware. having said that the price asked is a better guide to the quality!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)