Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2017
Fantastic book!! Fantastic price. Brilliant condition. Highly recommend this company for buying pre-owned books. Will be using again. Thanks for completing my trio of books!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Not what I thought it would be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Great read altogether.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2008
Colin's followup to his successful "The Real Gorbals Story" charts the growth of a young Glasgow tearaway to an educated young man. He has retained the black humour of the first book with the rich Glasgow characters wonderfully observed. He is open about his personal failings and this book shows that even those young people that we still condemn today as hopeless can be guided to excel within themselves. I can easily see these books as successful films (that would no doubt have Glasgow City Council up in arms about the negative portrayal of the city). To those who grew up in the Glasgow of the 60's it is an evocative description of what it really was like to live in a city that has never lost it's character (or it's characters).
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
Old jokes, some standard characterisation, some rather silted writing, and the rather straightforward collection of episodes, rather than a flowing story, about growing up in Glasgow, with summer work in Oban in the seventies. Nothing startling, and I don't really know why I liked this book, but I did. It comes across as natural and honest, and even the author having his greater potential shown to him by others comes across in
a friendly, encouraging light, rather than, as it could easily have become, in a rather patronising manner. An enjoyable, evocative read, almost succeeding in spite of itself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
Not hard to put down, in fact impossible to put down. I can only echo other readers by saying it's a great follow up to The Real Gorballs Story. It was great to follow Colin as he leaves school and moves his life on towards adulthood. Great anecdotes and patter that made me laugh out loud on a number of occasions, whilst still setting the scene of 1970's Glasgow that really makes you feel you were actually there. Brilliant and a fantastic read. You won't be dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Yes an ok book about the author as he grew up and moved away from the gorbals as most of it was demolished they had no choice !
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
If you liked THE REAL GORBALS STORY follow the author on his adventures from the Gorbals all over the place including Ireland and London...it could only happen to a real Gorbals guy! This book had me laughing all the way to work and in the pub. The author is a fantastic old time style patter merchant who really knows how to spin a tale or two with a lot of twists on the way...it is one of the most entertaining books I have ever read and my pals loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
Excellent reading.Full of Glasgow humour that has you in stiches.Detailed stories and descriptions of life in Glasgow and other areas of Scotland in the Sixties .Love the characters with their stories and words of wisdom
A must read if you lived in Glasgow in the Sixties,even if you did not you will find it very entetaining.I have read the other two books written about the Authors childhood in Glasgow ,both to the same standard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
Brill book, great Author, buy this book its a fantastic read. I gave it to my dad and he Loved it too.Thankyou :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)