Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2017
Not only superbly written, brilliantly researched and lived, this book tells the true strory of 4 of the greatest to done the gloves and the 12 subsequent fights tbey were involved with.
If you gave any interest in the noble art yourself this is an utterly must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Excellent book more than pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2008
I share the first reviewer's scoring for this book, although not his affection for the brutal end of the sport. Rather, the history of boxing (like that of its poorer cousin, pro wrestliing, and its travelling companion, the mafia) fascinates me for sociological reasons. I agree that the author has omitted to choose his preference, but he's hinted at it by listing them Leonard, Hagler, Hearns, Duran and I'd guess this matches the public perception, with SRL at the head due to his show-biz image and the rest in that sequence due to the results of high-profile contests among the four. I personally favour Hagler, who first caught my attention by thrashing the evidently-overrated A. Minter, and Hearns, who upset me late on by beating the quiety capable Dennis Andries. Each line of this book drips with detail, and you could argue that the author is simply thumbing through results in Ring magazine except that asides and qualifications confirm that he's "been there". While the switching back and forth between the four angle characters can be hard to keep up with -- and the incidental biogs of supporting characters even more so, so that I had to backtrack -- this amount of detail makes the book more "liveable". The author is also frank about the seamier side of the fight game, suicidally so with some attestations. A good read for anyone who enjoys evocative newsreel of this atmospheric sport. (Dave)
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
At its beautiful best, boxing can be a noble battle of the mind, a struggle for dominance using skill and wit, and a gargantuan test of human fitness, heart and endurance. At its worst, it's full of braggarts, money spinners, bullies and hate. In the post Ali late 70s, boxing was tending towards ugliness. During the 80s, these four riveting fighters (Sugar Ray Leonard, Marvin Hagler, Roberto Duran and Thomas Hearns), brought back some of the vanishing beauty. And drama, pathos, poetry, and romance.

The four boxers couldn't be any more different: Sugar Ray smooth, graceful, all jazz and soul, Duran tough, dirty, raw and playful, Marvellous Marvin a shaven headed macho bullet, and Hearns the talented classy Detroit gentleman.

This is a great, thrilling ride through the years when these four were kings of the ring. Kimball writes with the easy flow of a fine sports journalist, with an eye for noirish detail and a sly humour ("a Panamanian street dog had stopped Ken Buchanan with a punch to the family jewels"). There's a hint of Hemingway in the clipped punchy sentences. An atmosphere thick with cigar smoke and the dull thud of gloved fist thumping hard flesh. He records the poetry of boxing; describing rounds as "stanzas" and gifted dancing moves as "pirouettes". The first Leonard/Hearns fight is said to be "a symphony in five distinct movements".

Kimball himself could have stepped right out of Damon Runyon - ex hippy poet turned shabby sportswriter, losing an eye in a bar room brawl (may not be true), Lucky Strike chain smoker permanently hustling a deadline.

It's a ringside seat that pulls no punches, and takes us to the gyms, promoter's offices, restaurants and lounge bars where deals are made, and to over heated TV broadcasts in saturated blood heavy 80s colour. (And thanks to the ubiquity of YouTube, all these fights are quickly located - the commentary on the first round takedown of Leonard vs Andy Price is timeless).

This is Dashiell Hammett for the baby boomers. Writers who can capture this pace and excitement seem long gone, and the boxing ring now seems a detached, hostile place, lacking glamour or style. A much missed era.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
I thought this book was superb. A really engrossing account of 4 of the greatest boxers that ever laced a pair of gloves. I enjoyed the background detail of each fighter and the excellent descriptions of the big fights. It seemed like a fair and balanced account of the 4 fighters and the classic bouts between them. Definitely recommended for fight fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
one review of the book states that it is "An epic poem of a book that lifts the heart" i can only agree wholeheartedly with this statement. it is an stunning read, giving an insight into the world of boxing in the 80's and the many interesting characters that populated it. it's wonderful descriptive prose gives detail on duran, leonard, hagler and hearns that even the most avid boxing fan would be illuminated by. I have been telling people all about different details from this book, and would happily recommend it to all boxing fans who have an interest in the sweet science.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
This is a fascinating read. The author strikes a great balance around the events of each fight. He brings the fights alive from a very neutral perspective and although your expecting a favourite to emerge, he doesn't seem to have one, giving each boxer the up most respect in their roles. Although I'm old enough to remember the fights,memories fade and this book brings them back to life. An excellent read. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
A cracking account of pugilist reportage from a guy I'd never heard of before. Boxing aficionados shall grip these pages with enthusiasm as Kimball writes with an acute attention to detail and a great sense of drama. As regards to the actual physical orm of the book it was a bit tattered but that was what I expected, innit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Anybody who likes boxing will love the detail of this book. This era of boxing came slightly before my time but this did not stop me from reading it from cover to cover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
I like how honest the author is. He doesn't pander to Ray Leonard like many of authors and journalists tend to. That is not to say Ray Leonard's skill and ability are overlooked by the author. Hearns, Hagler, Duran and Leonard are all treated equally and unbiasedly by the author.
My only "complaint" (without wishing to sound like a 9 year old boy) was I would have liked more photographs of the pugilists.
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the period of boxing, it really is excellently written, many insightful comments and completely without prejudice to any of the four legends.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)